Zimbabwe Announces Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup 2022 Squad
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Zimbabwe’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad: As the deadline for the announcement of the squad for T20 World Cup 2022 came to end on 15 September, we saw a lot of nations announcing squad after deep analysis. Late night, Zimbabwe announced a 15-member squad and we see a lot of comebacks from injuries in the squad.

The team will be led by very abled Ervine Craig who comes back from a hamstring injury. Chakabva Regis will be the wicketkeeper of the team. All eyes will be on Raza Sikander who has shown exceptional form in the recent past and made his team win matches.

Tendai Chatara, Wellington Masakadza, and Milton Shumba all make their team comebacks from injuries, while Blessing Muzarabani, who will spearhead the speed assault, also returns. While Muzarabani, who traveled with the squad to Australia without playing a game, is back in shape and ready to go, Chatara is recovering from a collarbone fracture.

Milton Shumba and Wellington Masakadza have recovered from quadriceps and shoulder tendon injuries, respectively. As non-traveling reserves, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Innocent Kaisa, Kevin Kasuza, Victor Nyauchi, and Tanaka Chivanga have been named.

The qualifying phase for the T20 World Cup 2022 will begin on October 16 with two slots in the super 12s stage up for grabs. Zimbabwe has been assigned to Group B of the preliminary round together with West Indies, Ireland, and Scotland.

Prior to the main competition, Zimbabwe is also slated to play warm-up matches against Sri Lanka and Namibia on October 10 and 13. At the Bellerive Oval in Hobart, Tasmania, Zimbabwe’s T20 World Cup campaign gets underway with a matchup against Ireland in Round 1.

Zimbabwe recently played 3-One Day Internationals against Australia in Australia before the World Cup. The team game tough competition to the hosts as they were able to beat them in the second ODI. It will interesting to see their T20 WC campaign.

Zimbabwe’s T20 World Cup 2022 Squad: Ervine Craig (C), Burl Ryan, Chakabva Regis, Chatara Tendai, Evans Bradley, Jongwe Luke, Madande Clive, Madhevere Wessly, Masakadza Wellington, Munyonga Tony, Muzarabani Blessing, Ngarava Richard, Raza Sikandar, Shumba Milton, Williams Sean

Reserve Players: Chivanga Tanaka, Kaia Innocent, Kasuza Kevin, Marumani Tadiwanashe, Nyauchi Victor

Matched Content Ad