Chakabva to lead Zimbabwe for India ODIs as Ervine Keeps Out

Zimbabwe Captain For ODI series against India
Article top

In the forthcoming ODI series against India, Zimbabwe’s wicketkeeper-batter Regis Chakabva will continue to serve as captain while regular skipper Craig Ervine is still recovering from a left hamstring injury.

Wellington Masakadza, a left-arm spinner for Zimbabwe, will also be out with a shoulder tendon injury against India. Zimbabwe released their 17-member squad on Thursday. Fast bowlers Blessing Muzarabani and Tendai Chatara are still out of commission after missing the T20I and ODI series against Bangladesh due to a torn thigh muscle and a broken collarbone, respectively.

In the just finished ODI series against Bangladesh, which Zimbabwe won 2-1, Chakabva, who made his Zimbabwean debut in 2008, took the helm for the first time. Additionally, he helped the hosts win the series with a game-winning 102 in the second ODI. Sikandar Raza, a senior all-rounder, was named the Man of the Series for his 252 runs and five wickets in the third and final ODI against Bangladesh. Chakabva was unable to play because of a hand sprain.

The three-match series against India, which is a part of the ODI World Cup Super League, is set to start on August 18 in Harare.

All three One-Day Internationals will be held at Harare Sports Club, where the hosts are riding high following a thrilling 2-1 victory against Bangladesh. India automatically qualifies for the World Cup by virtue of being the host, despite the fact that the series is a crucial one for Zimbabwe since finishing in the top eight on the Super League table guarantees entry to the World Cup.

Squad: Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (capt), Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande (wk), Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar, Raza, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano

India Squad for Zimbabwe Tour: KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar

Matched Content Ad