Srilanka Announces Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

ICC T20 World Cup Squad
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Srilanka’s ICC T20 World Cup Squad 2022: As the deadline for the announcement of the squad for T20 World Cup 2022 came to end on 15 September, we saw a lot of nations announcing squad after deep analysis pretty late at night Srilanka announced their 15-member squad a day later for which fans were waiting in anticipation.

The team will be led by Dasun Shanaka, the Asia Cup 2022 winning captain. It is observed that most of the players who were part of the winning squad have found themselves in the World Cup roster as well. Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara have been nominated too, however, their participation would depend on their level of fitness prior to the competition.

The fast left arm Dilshan Madushanka, after a strong performance in the UAE, keeps his spot in the team. Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay keep their positions in the squad. The seasoned middle-order batter Dinesh Chandimal, who was re-inducted into the T20I team for the Asia Cup, only makes the list of standby players.

The squad though has retrieved players from the Asia Cup squad but quite a few of them are struggling with injuries. Chameera, a crucial fast bowler, is still recovering from an ankle ailment; whether or not he can play in a month will depend on how healthy he is. Despite their uncertain involvement, the squad features a number of speed alternatives, including Madushanka, Pramod Madushan, and Chamika Karunaratne.

Only Ashen Bandara and Praveen Jayawickrama will be the players from standby who will accompany the team to Australia; Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, and Nuwanidu Fernando are listed as players on standby.

ICC T20 World Cup Squad 2022: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando

Matched Content Ad