HomeCricket NewsRoger Binny Succeeds Sourav Ganguly as BCCI President

Roger Binny Succeeds Sourav Ganguly as BCCI President

On Tuesday, Roger Binny, a former star of the Indian cricket team and a member of the 1983 World Cup-winning team. Now will hold the position of the 36th President of the BCCI.

Roger Binny, a former star of the Indian cricket team and a part of the 1983 World Cup-winning team. Is the 36th head of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). At the BCCI AGM in Mumbai. It is declared officially. Sourav Ganguly, a former Indian captain, is replaced by Binny. The lone applicant that submitted a candidature for the position of BCCI president was Binny.

The election of the next set of officeholders was a mere formality

Binny will now step down from his position as president of the Karnataka State Cricket Association. Where he most recently served the position. The medium pacer was a crucial component of India’s historic World Cup victory in 1983. In just eight games, he was the most wicket taker (18) in that year’s main event.

Binny had previously attended senior selection committee meetings as a member when Sandeep Patil was the chairman. When Stuart Binny, was considered for inclusion in the Indian team, he always stepped away from the conversation.

In the past, Ganguly held numerous talks with the stakeholders in New Delhi. According to a PTI report. The former India captain was eager to serve a second term as BCCI President.

“Sourav was offered IPL chairmanship but he politely declined the offer. His logic was that he cannot accept becoming head of a sub-committee in BCCI after heading institution. He had expressed interest in continuing in the position as quoted by BCCI.

The decision-makers waited for Ganguly to decide whether to accept the position of IPL chairman before promoting the Himachal man. Who along with secretary Shah, regarded as one of the most effective members of the last BCCI cabinet.

Anurag Thakur, the sports minister, and N Srinivasan, the former president of the BCCI, are among the other candidates. Although Srinivasan is qualified to run, it is unclear if BCCI will support him given his advanced age.

Since there will be only one round of voting in Himachal Pradesh on November 12. Thakur is likely to be occupied during the ICC Board meeting.

“It is almost certain that Jay will be India’s representative at ICC Board meeting. But members need to decide if we want someone to become the ICC chairman or let Greg Barclay of New Zealand complete his second and final term,” a senior BCCI official told PTI  


Akash Kumar
Akash Kumar
Hi! I am Akash, a professionally trained journalist who graduated from Delhi University. I have spent several years playing cricket at the State level for Jharkhand. My passion for cricket and thrive to explore truth via journalism helped me to develop a character called – Sports Journalist. My contribution towards writing would be always out of the true spirit that longs for the game that Indians like the most.

Most Popular

Recent Comments