Naseem Shah To Be Part Of U-19 World Cup

Naseem Shah To Be The Part Of U-19 World Cup
Naseem Shah To Be The Part Of U-19 World Cup

View below topics in this post

The wicketkeeper-batsman, Rohail Nazir, will lead the 15-man Pakistan squad for the Under-19 World Cup that is going to be held in South Africa in January and February next year. Naseem Shah, who recently made his Test debut with Team Australia, has also been included in the team.

The 18-year-old Nazir has already played nine first-class matches and was also the captain of Pakistan’s U-19 team in the U-19 Asian Cup that was recently held in Sri Lanka. During that tournament, he also grabbed his maiden youth one-day century against India in an Under-19 match. The Pakistan opener Haider Ali, who is the part of Northern in first-class cricket, has been chosen to be the vice-captain of this U-19 Team.

Naseem Shah Selected For U-19 World Cup:

Meanwhile, Naseem, who participated in his maiden Test match at the Gabba, has also been selected. The fast bowler, who has considered in just eight first-class matches, shined brightly in a practice match against Australia A, taking the wicket of Marcus Harris. However, he did not have a good time in the Gabba Test which resulted in him ending up with just one wicket.

The 2004 and 2006 U-19 champions of Pakistan are being placed in Group C. The Asian nation will face Scotland in their opening match on January 19. The second match of Pakistan will be fought against Zimbabwe on January 22. The third and final group fixture will be played against Bangladesh on January 24.

The top two sides from the four teams will progress in the Super League. The Super League match will start on 28 January, with the top four teams heading into the semi-finals. The final match will take place on February 9 in Benoni.

The U-19 Pakistan Squad: Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Haider Ali, Mohammad Shehzad, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Rohail Nazir (c) Abbas Afridi, Fahad Munir, Qasim Akram, Amir Ali, Arish Ali Khan, Amir Khan, Naseem Shah, Tahir Hussain, Mohammad Haris.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here