Cameron Bancroft Not Included In T20I Squad, Kept As A Standby Player

Cameron Bancroft Not Included In T20I Test Match Squad, Kept As A Stand By Player
Cameron Bancroft Not Included In T20I Test Match Squad, Kept As A Stand By Player
Article top

After the matches between Pakistan and Australia, which saw Australians sweeping the series with a lead of 2-0, the latter has retained 13 of the 14-member Test match team for the upcoming three-match series against New Zealand at home. They have an omission in the extra batsman of Cameron Bancroft.

Yet, Bancroft will remain attached with the squad as a reserve for the series for the team’s opening batsman’s position in Perth. James Pattinson, who made his comeback to the team after serving a ban, will remain too. Michael Neser will be the reserve paceman.

Bancroft Kept As A Standby Player For The T20I Test Match Squad:

The Australian chairman of the Board selectors, Trevon Hohns, said, “As we said prior to the Pakistan series we are still striving to maintain a core group of players. The performance of the team against Pakistan was very impressive across the areas, while there is always some room to improve.”

He added, “We are currently backing up the batting line-up order to continue their form across the next three Tests matches. Where whilst is not a part of this team, Cameron Bancroft remains one of the standby players. Similarly, depending on conditions, we can reserve the right player in the right order to maintain the format in the time of playing a Series. Michael Neser will be the part of Queensland and also will plat for this team against New South Wales in the Marsh Sheffield Shield game at the SCG, as James Pattinson did last week for Victoria.”

Australia is going to host New Zealand for a three-match Test series that will start with a day-night Test match in Perth from December 12. The second Test will start on Boxing Day at the iconic MCG and the final fixture will be played at the SCG from January 3.

The Australian T20I Squad: Tim Paine (C), Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazelwood, Travis Head (VC), Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here