Virat Kohli Rested; Samson, Dube Selected For T20Is Against Bangladesh

Fans Fires On BCCI For Sanju Samson
Fans Fires On BCCI For Sanju Samson

Virat Kohli has been rested in the upcoming three-match T20I series against Bangladesh, handing the leadership to Rohit Sharma.

Kerala batsman Sanju Samson, who recently scored a 212 in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, has been recalled while Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube got his maiden call-up in the national side as a replacement for Hardik Pandya who is recovering from a low-back surgery.

India has appointed an unchanged squad for the following two Test matches, except that  Shahbaz Nadeem does not find a place. Jharkhand spinner, who was a cover for Kuldeep Yadav in the third test against South Africa, eventually made his debut in the Ranchi Test against South Africa.

The T20I squad of India has seen the return of Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.  Thakur is replacing Navdeep Saini in the squad and Chahal makes his comeback after the World Cup 2019.

It is after more than four years that Samson returns to the international cricket, following his T20I debut against Zimbabwe in Harare in 2015. This will be his fifth call-up for the national side. He was part of the limited-overs tour of England in India in 2014 but ended up being on the bench. He finally got his T20I cap in Zimbabwe where he joined the team after Ambati Rayudu was ruled out due to injury.

The selection committee headed by MSK Prasad has not picked MS Dhoni, whose future in international cricket is still under a cloud after he opted to take a sabbatical after the 2019 World Cup.

However, the first T20I between India and Bangladesh is scheduled on November 3 at Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium.

T20I Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

Test Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here