PAK-W vs SL-W Highlights: Sri Lankan Women beats Pakistan by 1 run

PAK-W vs SL-W Highlights
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

PAK-W vs SL-W Highlights: Sri Lanka women defeated Pakistan by one run on Thursday to secure their place in the Asia Cup finals.

Defending 122, Inoka Ranaweera shone as the Lankans held off Pakistan to win a last-ball thriller. In the final, Sri Lanka will face India, who defeated Thailand earlier today.

Batting first, Sri Lanka Women struggled to score quickly on a slow surface. Captain Chamari Athapaththu was the first to be fired for ten minutes. Anushka Sanjeewani and Harshitha Madavi scored the majority of the runs, propelling SL past the 100-run mark. With late boundaries from Hasnini Perera and Kavisha Dilhari, SL finished with 122 on the board. With a spell of 3/17, Nashra Sandhu was Pakistan’s best bowler.

The Pakistani captain then shared the crease with Omaima Sohail.

And the pair guided Pakistan to the 10-over mark without losing another wicket. At the halfway point, the team had a score of 62/2. Kavisha Dilhari then dismissed Sohail, giving Sri Lanka its third wicket. Nida Dar, the star of the previous match came in at number four.  Shared a 42-run stand with the Pakistani captain.

Maroof batted brilliantly and appeared to be on his way to leading the team home, but he was dismissed with the game on the line. Sugandika Kumari knocked over the timber, giving Sri Lanka an opening. They struck again in the 19th over, dismissing Ayesha Naseem, making the match more tense and exciting as it entered the final few overs. Pakistan needed nine runs off the final over to ensure an India-Pakistan Asia Cup final, but they faltered in the final over, effectively eliminating them from the tournament.

Pakistan Women finished second in the points standings. Their only defeat came at the hands of Thailand. In their previous league game, the Bismah Maroof-led team defeated Sri Lanka. The Indian Women’s team has already advanced to the Finals

Pakistan was unable to find boundaries in the final overs. Because the team was unable to find gaps and lost wickets at critical junctures. It took three runs off the final ball to win the match and two runs to force a super over, but Nida Dar could only manage one run.

Sri Lanka a dramatic win and setting up a title match against India on Saturday, October 15.

As the Indian Women’s team has already made it to the finals of the Asia Cup 2022. Sri Lankan women’s after defeating Pakistan by 1 Run. Made their spot in the finals after the neck to neck.

India-W squad: Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana(c), Sabbhineni Meghana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Richa Ghosh(w). Kiran Navgire, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (capt), Harshitha Samarawickrama, Hasini Perera, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari. Anushka Sanjeewani (wk). Malsha Shehani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Sugandika Kumari, Inoka Ranaweera, Achini Kulasuriya

Matched Content Ad