HomeCricket NewsODIs - Most Player Of The Series Awards

ODIs – Most Player Of The Series Awards

The player of the series is awarded to the person who is the point of difference between the two sides. There have been many ODI greats who have frequently won this award. A couple of ODI superstars have also won the player of the series award in a tournament like the World Cup. Let us look at the Most Player Of The Series Awards in ODIs in detail.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

We look at the top 10 players to have won the most player of the series awards in ODIs:

#10 Sourav Ganguly – 7

He scored a century on his Test debut but it was in the ODI format that he really came onto his own. Sourav Ganguly remains one of India’s finest ODI players. He played 311 ODIs winning the player of the series award 7 times in the 75 series he featured in.

#9 Yuvraj Singh – 7

He is arguably India’s greatest ODI player. His numbers might not reflect the impact he had on the game but Yuvraj Singh was the cornerstone behind India’s landmark ODI wins. He won a total of 7 player of the series awards in 304 ODIs while he featured in 71 series. Yuvraj also won the player of the World Cup in 2011 scoring 362 runs and 15 wickets.

#8 Shakib Al Hasan – 7 

He is Bangladesh’s best player across formats. Shakib Al Hasan continues to put in match-winning performances for the side. He has won a total of 7 awards so far. Hasan has played 67 series across 224 ODIs.

#7 Hashim Amla – 7

He recently announced his retirement from all forms of cricket. Hashim Amla is one of the best ODI cricketers. He kept chasing Virat Kohli record for record in ODIs. Amla won the award 7 times in 49 series averaging 1 award every 7 series. He played just 181 games which shows his command over the format.

#6 Vivian Richards – 7

He was the original master blaster of the ODIs. Vivian Richards remains an inspiration for many cricketers. He was a trailblazer in the format. Richards won the player of the series award 7 times in just 40 series over a career spanning 187 ODIs.

#5 Chris Gayle – 8

He is the self-proclaimed universe boss. Chris Gayle’s achievements in T20 cricket often shadow his success in the other two formats. He made his debut in 1999 and went on to represent the West Indies for 20 years. Gayle won the award 8 times in 301 ODIs across 71 series he was a part of.

#4 Shaun Pollock – 9

He is one of the most underrated legends of the game. Shaun Pollock was not just a fine exponent with the ball but he was a handy batsman down the order. He won the award a record 9 times in 60 series over 303 ODIs. Pollock is undoubtedly the most valuable South African ODI player of all time.

#3 Virat Kohli – 10

There is already an intense debate regarding whether Virat Kohli is the greatest ODI player ever. His numbers in the format do add value to the discussion though. Kohli has already won the player of the series award 10 times in just 66 series across 270 ODIs. He is miles ahead of any other active player on this list.

#2 Sanath Jayasuriya – 11

He was the innovator who transformed the game in the 1996 World Cup. Sanath Jayasuriya was the player of the World Cup in 1996. He won many games for Sri Lanka singlehandedly. Jayasuriya won the player of the series award a record 11 times. He featured in a whopping 111 series across 445 ODIs.

#1 Sachin Tendulkar – 15

He is without a doubt the greatest ODI batsman of all time. Sachin Tendulkar scored 18,426 ODI runs comprising 49 centuries. The little master won the player of the series award 15 times in 108 series across 463 ODIs. He comfortably tops the list of ODI players to win the player of the series award.

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Most Popular

Recent Comments