HomeLatest NewsIND vs ENG semi-final update: Rohit, Suryakumar power India to 171 in...

IND vs ENG semi-final update: Rohit, Suryakumar power India to 171 in a rain-halted ticket to finale clash

IND vs ENG semi-final update T20 World Cup 2024

IND vs ENG semi-final update: Rohit’s funky fifty followed some contributions from SKY, Hardik and Jadeja guided India to a 170-plus score in the second semifinal of the T20 World Cup at Guyana 

The rain-halted game saw many deliveries failed to bounce well, and a good turn for spinners, which is a good sign for India while defending 172.  

IND vs ENG semi-final update  

Invited to bat first, Indian captain Rohit Sharma seemed to continue their aggressive best against a tough English side.  

Virat Kohli once again failed to deliver for his side in search of a quick start. Topley bowled a perfect good length delivery that shaped back into the right-hander. Kohli tried to smash over mid-wicket, got beaten and the ball removed the bails.  

Rohit Sharma from one end providing India some relief with his fearless play. Rishabh Pant, who came at number 3 got out for 4 at mid-wicket as he did not get the elevation he needed. 

Skipper Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav added 73 for the third wicket before the former left the crease after scoring 57 off 39.  

Much was dependent on SKY for being a set batter at difficult surface, but he was got near the boundary at 47.  

Hardik Pandya showed some signs of bringing his side back into the game with his 13-ball 23. While Jadeja () and Axar’s (10 off 6) small cameos provided the momentum.  

Chris Jordan was the pick of the bowler for England, as he took 3 wickets. 


Rohit Sharma completed 5000 runs as a captain for India  

India’s all-format skipper Rohit Sharma has completed 5000 runs as a captain for team India and became the fifth player to do so. Sharma achieved this feat during his knock against England in the second semifinal of ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Virat Kohli is top in this list with the most runs 12883, MS Dhoni in second with 11207, followed by Mohd. Azharuddin (8095), and Sourav Ganguly (7643).

Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Points Table

LPL 2024
MLC 2024
TNPL 2024
Galle Marvels8530010-0.059
Jaffna Kings8530010-0.392
Colombo Strikers8440080.583
B-Love Kandy8350060.033
Dambulla Sixers835006-0.269
LAK R513013-0.842
MI NY513013-0.070
Lyca Kovai Kings440080.784
Nellai Royal Kings42115-0.023
Trichy Grand Cholas422040.701
Chepauk Super Gillies422040.253
Siechem Madurai Panthers41213-1.237
IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans31202-0.032
Dindigul Dragons31202-0.413
SKM Salem Spartans41302-0.519

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Captains with most ICC Trophies Top-5 Batters with Most Runs in International Cricket Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets in Test Cricket Top 5 Indians with best strike rate in T20Is Top 5 Richest Cricket Boards in the World