HomeLatest NewsFastest 50s for India in T20 World Cup history: Rohit Sharma enters...

Fastest 50s for India in T20 World Cup history: Rohit Sharma enters the list in Hitman style 

Fastest 50s for India in T20 World Cup history

Fastest 50s for India in T20 World Cup history: Rohit Sharma made the mockery of the opponents bowling line-up in arguably the match of the tournament by smashing a 19-ball 50 in St Lucia on Monday.  

Australia players were seen extremely positive after dismissing Virat Kohli for a duck, but they were not aware of Indian skipper’s exploit, as Sharma took the complete charge on his shoulder and smacked ball all around the park during the powerplay.  

Sharma during his quick-fire knock completed his half-century in just 19 balls to enter the list of fastest 50s by Indians in T20 World Cup history.  

Fastest 50s by Indians in T20 World Cup  

Yuvraj Singh: 12-ball 50 vs ENG, 2007 

KL Rahul: 18-ball vs 50 SCO, 2021 

Rohit Sharma: 19-ball 50 vs AUS, 2024 

Indian captain Rohit Sharma has struck 8 sixes during his explosive 41-ball 92 innings and became the first player in history to complete 200 sixes in T20 internationals.  

The second best, Martin Guptill, shot 173 maximums.  

Talking about India’s campaign, India topped the Group A points table after defeating Ireland, Pakistan and USA, respectively, and is dominating the Super 8 stage of the ICC event, having won all of their games and is set to enter the semifinals for the second consecutive time.  

This is second straight ICC event in the span of 8 months under Rohit Sharma’s leadership when India is playing all an all-dominating cricket and entering the knockouts as the only unbeaten team in the competition. However, India’s dreamy run was ended when they lost the finale of ICC World Cup 2023 against Australia.  

India has previously won the ICC title way back in 2013 under MS Dhoni.  

Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Points Table

MLC 2024
TNPL 2024
LPL 2024




MI NY724015-0.451
LAK R724015-0.710
Lyca Kovai Kings651010+0.813
Chepauk Super Gillies64208+0.511
Trichy Grand Cholas63306+0.408
Dindigul Dragons53206+0.036
Nellai Royal Kings52215-0.135
IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans52304+0.405
Siechem Madurai Panthers51313-1.463
SKM Salem Spartans61502-0.969
Galle Marvels8530010-0.059
Jaffna Kings8530010-0.392
Colombo Strikers8440080.583
B-Love Kandy8350060.033
Dambulla Sixers835006-0.269

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Captains with most ICC Trophies Top-5 Batters with Most Runs in International Cricket Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets in Test Cricket Top 5 Indians with best strike rate in T20Is Top 5 Richest Cricket Boards in the World