India squad for Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Harmanpreet to lead, Shikha Pandey and Pooja Vastrakar return

Women’s T20 World Cup 2023
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

India’s team for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 as well as the tri-series beginning in South Africa has been chosen by the All-India Women’s Selection Committee. As expected Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the side with Smriti Mandhana will remain her deputy.

Shikha Pandey, an experienced pacer, surprisingly joined India’s 15-person team for the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Before being controversially benched from the team in October 2021, Shikha made her final appearance for India. Her inclusion highlights the lack of depth in the pace bowling division. The 33-year-old, whose specialty is swinging the ball, has played in three Tests, 55 ODIs, and 56 T20s.

Pooja Vastrakar recalled for Women’s T20 World Cup and Tri-series 

Pooja Vastrakar, who missed the series against Australia, was added pending proof of her fitness.

“The ICC

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 will begin on 10th February 2023. With Team India set to begin their campaign on 12th February against Pakistan in Cape Town. Team India is in Group 2 with England, West Indies, Pakistan, and Ireland. The top two teams in each group at the end of the group stage will play in the semi-finals. The final will be held on 26th February 2023,” the BCCI said in a statement.

Despite her underwhelming performance in India’s 1-4 series loss to the powerful Australia, Jemimah Rodrigues has been able to keep her spot on the team.

Anjali Sarvani, a left-arm pacer, joined the team after playing her first series against Australia. Renuka Thakur and Pooja Vastrakar are the other options for pace bowlers, though their participation in the team is contingent on their fitness.

India’s bowling weaknesses exposed during the Australia series. And the team still has a lot of work to do before the ICC competition. Along with Radha Yadav and Rajeshwari Gayakwad, the team also has all-rounders Deepti Sharma and Devika Vaidya as spinners.

India to play against Pakistan in their first match

India, who finished second in the previous competition, will face Pakistan in their opening match on February 12 in Cape Town. The competition will take place from February 10 to February 26.

With the U-19 team, Shafali Verma and Richa Ghosh have already arrived in South Africa.

Team India will compete in a tri-series tournament that will start on January 19 of 2023 before the T20 World Cup.

India’s squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh (wk) Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey

Reserves: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.

  • Pooja Vastrakar’s inclusion in the squad is subject to fitness

India’s squad for Tri-series 

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Shushma Verma (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Shikha Pandey

Matched Content Ad