India defeat West Indies by 88 runs in 5th T20I, claim series 4-1

IND Vs WI Match 5th T20I Highlights
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

India registered a comprehensive win over West Indies by 88 runs to win the fifth and final T20I of the series at the Central Broward Regional Park in Lauderhill, Florida. Let us look at IND Vs WI Match 5th T20I Highlights in detail.

It was a night for Shreyas Iyer, who starred with the bat, before Indian spinners guide India to an 88-run win over West Indies to claim the series 4-1.

IND Vs WI Match 5th T20I Highlights:

Rohit Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were given a break to evaluate their bench strength ahead of the Asia Cup, which starts later this month.

In place of regular skipper, Hardik Pandya was named as captain for the final T20I for India and after winning the toss he opted to bat.

India again witnessed a new opening pair in the final match with Ishan Kishan and Shreyas Iyer came into the field to open the innings for India.

Ishan Kishan went out early, while Iyer served as the focal point of India’s batting as Deepak Hooda and Hardik Pandya also contributed 38 and 28, respectively.

Iyer, who was seen struggling while batting at no.3 in earlier games, completed his half century in style and played a 40-ball 64 to provide a good platform to set a good total in the last T20I of the series.

In reply, West Indies fell 88 runs short to target as they bundled out for just 100, courtesy of Indian spin department who took all 10 wickets.

Pandya gave the first over to left-arm orthodox Axar Patel and he provided in the breakthrough in the third ball itself by removing Jason Holder on duck.

He didn’t stop just there as he broke the back of West Indies by dismissing other two top batters to put the hosts on back foot.

Spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Ravi Bishnoi then joined the party and picked up 3 and 4 wickets, respectively in the game to hand India a comfortable win.

Player of the match & series

Axar Patel received the title of player of the match for his outstanding 3-15-3 bowling spell. The player of the series award went to the new comer Arshdeep Singh, who wowed everyone with his deadly Yorkers and slower balls in death overs throughout the series and took 7 wickets in 5 games.

Matched Content Ad