West Indies Includes Three New Uncapped Players, Jason Holder To Miss In Test series against Bangladesh

Jason Holder To Miss Test series
Image Source: stumpsandbails.com
Article top

Jason Holder To Miss Test series: For the next Test series against Bangladesh, West Indies will be missing experienced all-rounder Jason Holder. They have also added three new uncapped players to the side.

The West Indies have picked three uncapped players in their Test team for the June 16, 2022 match against Bangladesh at home. Devon Thomas, the wicketkeeper-batter Gudakesh Motie, the left-arm spinner, and pacer Anderson Phillip are among the players on the team. While Thomas and Motie have already represented the West Indies in white-ball cricket, Phillip has yet to participate in any format.

West Indies will also be without senior allrounder Jason Holder, who has sought a vacation from the team. “All-rounder Jason Holder is unavailable for selection as CWI has granted his request for a period of rest and recovery. He will therefore miss Bangladesh’s all-format tour of the West Indies,” Cricket West Indies issued a statement (CWI).

Kemar Roach is absent from the team who sustained an injury while playing in the English County Championship and will now be subjected to a fitness test.

Desmond Haynes, the main selector, commented on the selection as he said, “Devon Thomas has been knocking on the door for quite some time. He has done extremely well in our franchise cricket system and we view this as a good opportunity to give him a go. You would notice that Raymon Reifer is also in the squad. He is another person that has done impressively well in the four-day competition and against England (earlier this year). So again, we are giving opportunities to guys who are performing. We think Gudakesh Motie is one of those guys who is also bowling well, and we think it will be a good opportunity for him to be involved.”

West Indies Test squad: Kraigg Brathwaite (c), Jermaine Blackwood (vc), Nkrumah Bonner, John Campbell, Joshua Da Silva, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Jayden Seales, Devon Thomas

Matched Content Ad