ICC Men’s T20 World Cup To Be Held From October 17 To November 14 In UAE And Oman

T20 World Cup 2021 Players List
Image Source - Twitter.com

ICC has now officially shifted the venue for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 to the United Arab Emirates and Oman. And the tournament is set to start from 17th October to 14th November 2021.

Initially, the T20 world cup was set to take place in India but due to the second wave of Covid-19 in the country, the venue had to be shifted.

Despite the change in Venue, BCCI will remain as the host for the World Cup, which will be held at the 4 four cricket stadiums – Dubai International Stadium, the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi, the Sharjah Stadium, and the Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

The last Men’s T20 World Cup was played back in 2016, where West Indies won the trophy against England in India.

So, there are 8 teams that are participating in the preliminary stages – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman, and Papua New Guinea.

ICC CEO Geoff Allardice said – “Our priority is to deliver the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 safely, in full and in its current window. Whilst we are incredibly disappointed not to be hosting the event in India, the decision gives us the certainty we need to stage the event in a country that is a proven international host of multi-team events in a bio-secure environment. We will work closely with the BCCI, the Emirates Cricket Board, and Oman Cricket to ensure fans can enjoy a wonderful celebration of cricket.”

Even BCCI President said – “The BCCI is looking forward to hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 tournament in UAE and Oman.  We would have been happier hosting it in India but considering the uncertainty due to the Covid 19 situation and the importance of a world championship, the BCCI will now continue to host this tournament in UAE and Oman. The BCCI is looking forward to creating a spectacle.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here