What Are The New Rules In The 2nd World Test Championship?

2nd World Test Championship new rules
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

The World Test Championship is set to kick-start its second season. After an upsetting final, India will take on England in the inaugural series of the second cycle of the WTC from August later this year. However, ICC is set to make some changes in the tournament’s points system. ICC has decided to level out the points for all the Test matches, unlike the last season. However, they will stick to their controversial percentage criteria. Let’s discuss 2nd World Test Championship New Rules

2nd World Test Championship New Rules 

As reported by ESPNcricinfo, in this edition of the WTC, each Test match will consist of an equal point, unlike the inaugural season where each series was handed an equal number of points. The winner will bag 12 points, a draw will consist of 4 points and if the game ends in a tie, both the teams will be given six points each.

ICC’s acting chief executive officer Geoff Allardice was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo: “The aim was to try and simplify the points system and to allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, though they may have played differing numbers of matches and series.”

All teams will be placed in the WTC points table based upon the percentage of won points from the games played in the tournament. The same rule was implied by the ICC midway through the last season. However, Indian skipper Virat Kohli and coach Ravi Shastri were critical of the additional rule. The overrate rule for the second tour has also been slightly changed. For every over team that exceeds the overrate, one point is to be deducted from their overall tally, which is only 50% of the penalty from the first edition.

Also read: 7 Indian Cricketers Who Are Vegetarians

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here