Asia Cup 2022: Hasan Ali joins squad ahead of big IND Vs PAK clash

Hasan Ali joins Pakistan squad
Image Source: ICC
Article top

View below topics in this post

Hasan Ali joins Pakistan squad ahead of IND Vs PAK Asia Cup 2022 match

Prior to today’s highly anticipated Asia Cup game between India and Pakistan, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that pacer Hasan Ali had joined the team in Dubai.

On Friday, Pakistan faced a blow when their star Pakistan’s standout bowler Mohammad Wasim was forced to withdraw from the Asia Cup on Friday due to a side strain he sustained while bowling in Pakistan’s practice session on Wednesday. The cricket board then announced Hasan Ali as his replacement.

“He had picked up the injury while bowling in Pakistan’s practice session on Wednesday. The bowler was assessed by the team medical staff, and an MRI scan in Dubai confirmed the diagnosis. The medical team will closely monitor Wasim’s rehabilitation and his return to competitive cricket will be reassessed before the England tour to Pakistan,” the PCB statement read.

“Hasan Ali was sought as a replacement player by the team management and the request was accepted by the chief selector. Hasan had been working on his bowling in the National High Performance Centre for the past three weeks and is presently in Rawalpindi, preparing for the National T20, which commences on 30 August,” the statement added.

Previously, Pakistan’s leading fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi was ruled out of the tournament due to knee injury. The left-arm pacer suffered a right knee ligament injury while fielding during the first Test match against Sri Lanka in Galle.

Pakistan will play there second league match on September 2 against Hong Kong.

The top two teams out of 3 will further advance to the super four next week, followed by final on September 11.

Ind Vs Pak Playing XIs (Predicted)

India XI

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Pakistan XI

Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Babar Azam (c), Khushdil Shah, Haider Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani


Matched Content Ad