Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Semifinals: Saurashtra and Maharashtra Seal Spot in Finals of Vijay Hazare Trophy 20222-23

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Semifinals
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 Semifinals: The wait is over. We finally have the finalists of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022. In the two semifinals held today between Saurashtra vs Karnataka and Maharashtra vs Assam, Saurashtra and Maharashtra emerged winner to seal spot in the finals

Semifinals 1 Saurashtra VS Karnataka, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022

Saurashtra vs Karnataka: Karnataka Fail to Set Big Target for Saurashtra

After deciding to bowl first, the Saurashtra bowlers gave them a great start by taking wickets and preventing the Karnataka batsman from scoring easily either. Karnataka was unable to progress because to this pressure and the bowlers’ tenacity. Throughout the whole innings, they continued dropping wickets at regular intervals, and despite Samarth’s knock of 88, they were unable to reach a reasonable score. Karnataka could only score 171 runs in 1st innings of the match.

Saurashtra vs Karnataka: Saurashtra Chase 172 Easily to Become first Finalists

A target of 172 was never going to pose a problem for Saurashtra, and despite losing a few early wickets in the run chase, Jay Gohil and Samarth Vyas helped to steady the ship. Prerak Mankad subsequently contributed with a useful cameo, but to be honest, skipper Jaydev Unadkat was the one who gave Saurashtra such a commanding lead. He took four wickets, and because to the captain’s outstanding performance, Saurashtra is now just one victory away from winning the match.

Semifinals 2 Maharashtra VS Assam, Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022

Maharashtra vs Assam: Powerful batting by Maharashtra in 1st Innings

With a 12-run victory against Assam in the semifinals, Maharashtra guaranteed their spot in the championship game. Ruturaj Gaikwad was once again the standout as he scores fantastic century. His total was 163 runs. Maharashtra gave Assam a lofty 351-run goal as Ankit Bawne also crushed a tonne. The Northeastern team, nevertheless, was outscored by 12 runs. Assam could only reach 338/12 despite half-centuries from Rishav Das, Sibsankar Roy, and Swarupam Purkayastha keeping them in the big chase. Now, Saurashtra and Maharashtra will compete in the final.

Maharashtra vs Assam: Maharashtra Bowlers Back Team in the End

Hangargekar shone with a four-wicket haul. The batsmen from Assam put up a brave performance with the bat, with Sibsankar Roy, Sarupam Purkayastha, and Rishav Das all scoring intrepid half-centuries and Sarupam coming close to a well-deserved century. As the duo formed a century partnership for the fifth wicket, Rooy smashed a stunning 78 off 63 balls while Sarupam blazed away with an 87-ball 95 that included 10 boundaries and a six. However, Maharashtra’s attack bowlers Hangargekar and Ingale teamed forces to dismiss the well-positioned batsmen, helping Maharashtra secure a spot in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 final against Saurashtra.

Saurashtra and Maharashtra will now meet for the finals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022 on 2nd December 2022 at Ahmedabad.
Matched Content Ad