Team India Got White Washed In ODI’s After 31 Years

Team India Got White Washed In ODI's After 31 Years
Image Source:

In the 3rd ODI between India Vs New Zealand, Kiwis have won the toss and opted to bowl first and the interesting part of this match was that from New Zealand it’s regular skipper Kane Williamson was back to lead his team after his injury. 

Playing XI for both team:

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Hamish Bennett

India (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Lokesh Rahul(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

India has scored 296 runs with a loss of 7 wickets

The match has started and from India, Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal have come to bat. At the second over only, Mayank lost his wicket by scoring just 1 run and India has lost the first wicket. Then the India captain Kohli came and joined Prithvi. They drag the scoreboard to 32 when Kohli was off as second wicket with 9 runs. 

After Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Prithvi Shaw tried to control the situation but this duo could score 62 when Prithvi Shaw was dismissed with 40 runs during 13th over. Then KL Rahul joined Shreyas Iyer but on the next ball only, Shreyas Iyer has sent back to the pavilion by Neesham with 62 runs. At this time, the score of India was 162. Then Manish Pandey joined KL Rahul and they had a blast. They have taken the score from 162 to 269. But during the fourth bowl of 47th over, KL Rahul was off.

KL Rahul has made a fantastic century as he scored 112 runs. After Rahul was dismissed,  Ravindra Jadeja joined Manish Pandey. But on the next bowl only, unfortunately, Manish Pandey also dismissed by Bennett with 42 runs. After Manish Pandey, SN Thakur came but he also sent back by scoring 7 runs on 49th over. At that time, the score of India was 280. Somehow Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini drag the scoreboard till 296. And at the end of 50th over, India had scored 296 runs with a loss of 7 wickets.

New Zealand Won The Match

New Zealand had the target of 297 runs to win. In response, Guptill and Henry Nicholls came to bat. They played in an attacking way. And this duo made 106 runs but during 17th over Martin Guptill was dismissed by Chahal as the first wicket of New Zealand. Martin Guptill had completed his half-century as he had made 66 runs in 46 balls. Then Kane Williamson came to bat and in partnership with Henry Nicholls, they had taken the score of New Zealand to 159. On 28th over, Kane Williamson was out as a second wicket with 22 runs. 

In this meantime, Henry Nicholls also made a half-century and scored 80 runs. After Willamson, Ross Taylor joined Nicholls and they scored 186 runs. During the last ball of the 31st over, Ross Taylor was out as a third wicket. Very soon, in the 32nd over only, Henry Nicholls was also out when the score of New Zealand was 189 runs. After that, the game was in the hand of James Neesham and Latham. They both took the score of New Zealand to 220 and Neesham was out by scoring 19 runs as the fifth wicket of New Zealand on 39th over. 

Finally, de Grandhomme joined Tom Latham and they played for a longer period of time. Grandhomme also completed a half-century and scored 58 runs while Latham made 32 runs. They both were not out. And this duo had taken the New Zealand team towards the victory. New Zealand scored 300 runs and they won the 3rd ODI match by 5 wickets.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here