Ranjan Madugalle And Kumar Dharmasena Of The ICC Will Officiate The LPL

ICC to Officiate The LPL
Image Source: Twitter.com

Ranjan Madugalle, ICC Chief Match Referee, and Kumar Dharmasena, ICC Elite Panel Umpire, will be part of a highly regarded Match Referee Group and an Umpiring Panel to serve in the Lanka Premier League (LPL).

ICC to Officiate The LPL

“Madugalle, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees have refereed in seven ICC Cricket World Cups, including the finals of 1999, 2003, 2015, and 2019 tournaments, will be joined by Graeme Labrooy and Wendell Labrooy, who are members of the International Panel of ICC Match Referees to officiate in the LPL,” the LPL said in a release. Manoj Mendis, a Sri Lankan First Class Match Referee, will also join the LPL Match Referees Team.

“In the meantime, Kumar Dharmasena, a member of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, who won the ICC David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year in 2012 and 2018, will be a part of the 11 member LPL umpiring panel,” the statement added.

Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Lyndon Hannibal, Raveendra Wimalasiri and Prageeth Rambukwella, who are Panel of Umpires in the ICC International, will join Dharmasena.

Famous Players Malinga, Gayle And Others Withdrawing From The Tournament

Aside from them, Level 01 Umpires Deepal Gunawardena, Keerthi Bandara, Asanga Jayasuriya, Hemantha Botheju, Raveendra Kottahachchi and Rohitha Kottahachchi who officiate in Sri Lanka’s First Class Club Cricket, will also be on the field throughout the LPL.

Despite famous players such as Lasith Malinga, Chris Gayle and others withdrawing from the tournament, the LPL’s inaugural season will begin this coming week. Inside the LPL, 5 franchisee teams will play in 23 matches, with names like Colombo, Galle, Kandy, Jaffna and Dambulla.

On November 26, Colombo will face Kandy in the LPL’s first match at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota. From now till the semi-finals on December 13 and 14, there will be doubleheaders. On December 16, the final will be held.

Also read: It Looks Unlikely Kuldeep And Chahal Playing Together In T20 World Cup: Deep Dasgupta

Matched Content Ad