MI vs DC Match Summary: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets, RCB qualify for playoffs

MI vs DC Match Summary
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

MI vs DC Match Summary:

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets in a nail-biting competition to hand RCB playoffs ticket.

The Delhi Capitals, who needed to win this game at all costs to qualify for the playoffs, we’re unable to defend 160 runs, and with their defeat, RCB received the final playoff qualifying berth.

Chasing the target of 160, Mumbai Indians lost their skipper early, but a modest second-wicket partnership of 51 runs between Ishan Kishan and Dewald Brevis put MI back on track.

The wicket-keeper batter Kishan played a brilliant knock of 48 runs of 35 balls and was dismissed Kuldeep Yadav in the 12th over. Shardul Thakur then in the 14th over got rid of Dewald Brevis (37 off 33).

However, MI batters Tilak Varma (21 off 17) and Tim David (34 of 11) took the charge and smashed big shots to put MI a bit closer to the target, while Ramandeep Singh gave the final touch with quick 13 runs cameo to help Mumbai Indians reach the target in 19.1 overs.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals witnessed a dreary start when they lose their top-3 batters, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, and Prithvi Shaw in the power play itself.

In the third over, Daniel Sams removed David Warner to give MI an early lead. After that, Jasprit Bumrah struck twice in as many overs, dismissing Mitchell Marsh and Prithvi Shaw. Mayank Markande then joined the part and landed another blow as he trapped Sarfaraz Khan.

DC were down to 50 for four at one point but Rovman Powell and Rishabh Pant resurrected their innings. However, Ramandeep Singh, on the last ball of 16th over dismissed the Delhi skipper Pant to halt DC’s progress.

After 16 overs DC were 125 for 5 with big hitter Rovman Powell and Axar Patel on the crease. Powell did try to smash as many runs as possible but he got out in the 19th over and with the help of Axar Patel’s 9 ball 19 Delhi somehow managed to put 159 on board.

For MI, Jasprit Bumrah grabbed 3 wickets, Ramandeep Singh took 2 wickets, while Daniel Sams and Mayank Markande bagged a wicket each.

Player of the matchJasprit Bumrah

Also Read: How many times RCB qualified for playoffs?

Matched Content Ad