Meg Lanning, Shane Warne Named in Queen’s Birthday Honour List 2022

Queen's Birthday Honour List 2022
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Australia celebrated Queen’s Platinum Jubilee on Saturday. In the series of awards that were announced, we have crickets legends too celebrated for their effort and contribution to the game. Meg Lanning and the late Shane Warne have been named to the Queen’s Birthday Honour List 2022. Here in this article, we have talked about crickets legends at Queen’s Birthday Honour List 2022.

Shane Warne, along with former tennis star Ashleigh Barty, was awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the Queen’s Birthday list, receiving his first Australian state distinction posthumously.

The spin-bowling legend, who died of a suspected heart attack while on vacation in Thailand in March at the age of 52, had received numerous medals in the athletic world but had never been publicly honored by his homeland. Warne concluded his international career with 708 Test wickets and 293 one-day international wickets, ranking him second all-time in international wicket-taking.

He was given the award “for remarkable service to cricket as a player, role model, and commentator, to the community through charitable activities, and for philanthropic donations” late on Sunday.

For “exceptional service to women’s cricket at the elite level,” Lanning, the Australia Women’s Captain, has been granted Member (AM) of the General Division.

In April, Lanning led Australia to victory in the ODI World Cup in New Zealand, adding to her three T20 World Cup victories in 2014, 2018, and 2020. Lanning has more ODI centuries than any other woman hitter, and as a 21-year-old, she took over the captaincy in all forms in 2014.

Lanning has won six World Cups and has been named ICC Women’s T20 Player of the Year in 2014 and ODI Player of the Year in 2015, among other honours.

Members (AM) of the General Division have also awarded former Australia women’s Test captain Muriel Picton and CA Hall of Famer Doug Walters “for substantial service to cricket at the elite level.”

Matched Content Ad