HomeIPLDelhi CapitalsIPL 2023: Major Award Winners

IPL 2023: Major Award Winners

Major Award Winners in IPL 2023:The initial three editions of the IPL saw mainly three major player awards being distributed. Batsman who scored the most runs was given the orange cap. The bowler with the most wickets was presented with the purple cap. There was a subjective opinion through which the player of the series was awarded. The awards underwent a revamp from the 2011 edition when the IPL went the playoffs route.

We look at the major award winners of IPL 2023:

#10 Longest six – Faf du Plessis 

The RCB captain Faf du Plessis smashed the longest six of the tournament in the game against LSG. He claimed the longest six award as the ball had travelled 115 meters at the Chinnaswamy Stadium.

#9 Emerging player – Yashasvi Jaiswal

There was little doubt over who would win the award this time around. Yashasvi Jaiswal had a standout season scoring 625 runs comprising a century against Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede Stadium.

#8 Electric Striker – Glenn Maxwell 

Another RCB batsman won a major award for his batting heroics. Glenn Maxwell scored at a strike rate of 183.48. He scored 400 runs at an impressive average of 33.33 smashing 31 sixes in the process.

#7 Best catch – Rashid Khan

The match-winner from Afghanistan is well and truly a 3-dimensional player. He bagged the best catch of the season award for his effort against the LSG at Ahmedabad.

#6 FairPlay – Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals might have finished second last on the points table but they certainly played the game in the right spirit. DC is a deserving winner of the FairPlay award as they pocketed 141 points in 14 games averaging 10.07 per game.

#5 Most fours – Shubman Gill

This player won it big in IPL 2023. Shubman Gill smashed the most number of fours this season. He dispatched 85 fours in addition to smashing 33 sixes!

#4 Purple cap – Mohammad Shami

The GT seamer had a terrific season pocketing 28 wickets in 17 games. Mohammad Shami finally won a purple cap for his wicket-taking exploits this year. 

#3 Orange cap – Shubman Gill

The GT opener was a runaway winner for the orange cap. Shubman Gill had an outstanding season wherein he scored 890 runs in 17 games. He scored 3 match-winning centuries at different stages of the tournament. 

#2 Game changer – Shubman Gill

He was well and truly the game-changer of the season. Shubman Gill guaranteed success this year. He notched up 7 scores of 50+ underlining his consistent run in IPL 2023.

#1 MVP – Shubman Gill

He rounds off this list winning the biggest award of the season – the most valuable player! Shubman Gill took home this prize too as his sizzling form helped him overshadow other competitors like Rashid Khan and Jaiswal. Gill now joins an elite list of players to win this award!

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Most Popular

Recent Comments