Jos Butler wins IPL 2022 Orange Cap after smashing 863 runs

Orange Cap In IPL 2022
Article top

Jos Buttler ended his impressive run at 863 runs to win the Orange Cap of IPL 2022 on Sunday. The Orange cap is awarded to the leading run-scorer of the season

Buttler has been the star of the IPL 2022, scoring 400 runs as the outstanding opener.

The Englishman finished the season with 863 runs in 17 matches, putting him second only to Virat Kohli in terms of most runs scored by a batter in a single IPL season (973 runs in 2016). With 848 runs in 17 games, Warner dropped to third place (also in 2016).

He also passed David Warner, who now slipped in third place with 848 runs in 17 matches (also in 2016).

Rajasthan Royals head coach Kumar Sangakkara had lavished praise on Buttler ahead of the grand finale, raving about his ideal season with the bat in IPL 2022.

During the final game, Buttler battled a little against the GT bowlers, but he still managed to knock 39 from 35 deliveries with five boundaries.

However, Rajasthan Royals couldn’t managed to win the IPL 2022 as the debutant Gujarat Titans defeated them by 7 wickets with 11 balls to spare.

KL Rahul, the captain of the LSG, and Quinton de Kock, the wicket-keeper batter, finished second and third in the IPL 15 season, respectively.

Hardik Pandya, the skipper captain who scored 35 against RR in the final of IPL 2022, finished the season in fourth place with 468 runs.

While the opening batter Shubhman Gill, who once again played a sensible innings in the important game, posted an unbeaten 45* in 43 balls to hand his team maiden IPL title.

Rank Batter Runs Team
1 Jos Buttler 863 RR
2 KL Rahul 616 LSG
3 Quinton de Kock 508 LSG
4 Hardik Pandya 487 GT
5 Shubman Gill 483 GT


Matched Content Ad