IPL 2023 Auction: What to Expect from Sunrisers Hyderabad Retention List

SRH IPL auction 2023
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

SRH IPL auction 2023: The IPL 2023 Season Auction is almost here. Today all the teams are expected to submit their retention list to BCCI. It will be a mini-auction this time so most players are expected to be retained.

Let’s see what to expect from Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2023 Auction:

Kane Williamson, the current captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad, is expected to be released before to the forthcoming IPL 2023 Auction. The Orange Army’s performance in the IPL 2022 was once again disappointing as they were unable to advance to the playoffs. SRH managed to win six of its 14 games, accumulating 12 points and placing eighth in the league standings.

After team management opted to remove David Warner from the captaincy position for the IPL 2021 season, Kane Williamson was selected as the SRH captain. Williamson would have hoped to have a good IPL 2022 season as a captain, as would the Orange Army. However, under the senior batter’s command, SRH played fairly poorly, losing seven out of 13 games.

What Kane Williamson Might be Sacked From Sunrisers Hyderabad?

His deteriorating T20 form has created more concerns than it has provided answers, more so than his captaincy. His status in the New Zealand Playing XI has come under scrutiny at home due to his dismal strike rate and patchy performances.

Williamson is costing SRH an additional Rs 14 crore. They would be seeking to release the cash so they could choose a player with a better balance, such as Ben Stokes or Cameron Green. They will also have a captaincy option in Stokes. Sunrisers Hyderabad might release Williamson in such a case.

Replacement for Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain

The Orange Army has a number of alternatives for Williamson’s replacement. West Indies captain Nicholas Pooran is the first priority, but the Men in Maroon have fared dreadfully under his leadership after they were eliminated from the T20 World Cup immediately following the first-round matches.

The former IPL winners may also want to consider Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Aiden Markram. As was already noted, Bhuvi has captained SRH before, and he has been one of the team’s most important players this year. Aiden Markram, a senior batter from South Africa, is another viable candidate to take Williamson’s spot.

SRH Retained Players:

Aiden Markram, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Nicholas Pooran, Rahul Tripathi, Umran Malik, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, T Nataraj, Glenn Phillips, Marco Jansen

SRH Released Players:

Kane Williamson (Possible), Shashank Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Romario Shepherd, Sean Abbott


Matched Content Ad