IPL 2022: Marsh, Shardul Strengthens DC’s Hopes In The Playoff Race

PBKS vs DC Match Highlight - Match 64
Image Source: Stumpsandbails
Article top

DC defeated PBKS in the 64th fixture of the Indian T20 League 2022 season to keep their playoff dreams alive. The Delhi Capitals beat the Punjab Kings by 17 runs in the contest on May 16 at the DY Patil Sports Academy in Navi Mumbai, keeping their playoff chances alive with one game remaining. Here in this article, we have talked about PBKS vs DC Match Highlights, How Marsh and Shardul Strengthen DC’s Hopes In The Playoff Race.

Despite Punjab Kings won the toss and chose to bowl, DC had a tough start to the innings after losing their in-form aggressive hitter, David Warner, for a golden duck, who was dismissed by Liam Livingstone. Meanwhile,  Sarfaraz Khan and Mitchell Marsh batted well for the DC and put up a crucial 51-run stand.

The duo’s brilliant knock assisted the scoreboard to boost their confidence. Furthermore, Sarfaraz Khan, who scored 16 ball- 32 runs, including 5 fours and 1 six, contributed significantly to the team before being removed by Arshdeep Singh.

Meanwhile, Mitchell Marsh and Lalit Yadav kept the momentum going with a 47-run stand for the wicket. PBKS switched tactics, bringing Arshdeep Singh back into the attack to bag Lalit Yadav (24 off 21 balls). Rishabh Pant and Rovman Powell, who were critical elements for the DC counterparts in the earlier fights, came up short for Livingstone with dismal scores of 7 and 2 runs, respectively.


Axar Patel’s important unbeaten knock of 17(20) boosted the scoreline. Meanwhile, Mitchell Marsh, the side’s sole standout player, was eventually removed by Rabada after scoring 48 balls off 63 runs for PBKS, including 4 fours and 3 maximums. Livingstone and Arshdeep Singh were the regular bowlers for Punjab, scooping up three wickets each, while Rabada picked up one.

In the pursuit of a decent total, PBKS’ openers Jonny Bairstow and Shikhar Dhawan got the innings off to a promising start, putting up a 38-run partnership for the 1st wicket. Nortje knocked Jonny Bairstow for 28(15). Following his departure, the top-order batsmen failed to stay at the forefront, losing track in a quick session. For Shardul Thakur, PBKS surrendered Shikhar Dhawan (19) and Bhanuka Rajapaksa (4 (5).

Axar Patel has ousted Punjab captain Mayank Agarwal with a golden duck. Kuldeep Yadav then had Liam Livingstone 3 (5) and Harpreet Brar 1 (2) struck out for him. Unfortunately, the batting order struggled against the DC bowlers, with the exception of Jitesh Sharma and Rahul Chahar, no batters scored even double digits from the middle and lower orders, respectively. Whereas Jitesh Sharma was removed by Thakur on 44 (34), R Chahar remained unbeaten on 25(24). The night, however, favored DC’s bowlers, who were able to limit Punjab to 142/9 in their 20-over innings.

Shardul Thakur’s performance was outstanding as he secured a four-wicket haul.  Both Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav got 2 wickets each, which shifted the momentum of the game in their favor. An additional contribution made by Anrich Nortje was a crucial wicket for the team that helped them keep their aspirations of making the playoffs.


Matched Content Ad