Mayank Agarwal Named Punjab Kings Captain IPL 2022

Punjab Kings Captain IPL 2022
Image Source:
Article top

The Punjab Kings (PBKS) has appointed Mayank Agarwal as their captain prior to the 15th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), which begins on March 26. On February 28, the franchise released the official declaration via its social media accounts. Here in this article, we have discussed Mayank Agarwal Named Punjab Kings Captain IPL 2022.

Since KL Rahul was just not retained by the franchise well before the mega auction, making the captain’s slot empty, Agarwal, who had previously been a component of the leading group despite operating as KL Rahul’s deputy, was the contender for the captaincy responsibility.

In the meantime, Agarwal has been one of 2 retained players, along with young fast bowler Arshdeep Singh, ahead of the 2022 auctions, in which the Kings arrived with the huge purse and purchased well, bagging Shikhar Dhawan, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Kagiso Rabada, Odean Amith, Shahrukh Khan, and Rahul Chahar, among many others.

I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the team: Agarwal

Agarwal has been with the Punjab-based team since 2018, having previously played Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) & Rising Pune Supergiants in the tournament. He has scored 2135 runs at 23.46 in 100 IPL matches, striking above 135.

Since being put in charge, Agarwal stated that he is “delighted” and would use the chance with “utmost sincerity.” “I have been at Punjab Kings since 2018 and I take a lot of pride in representing this fantastic unit. I am delighted to be given the opportunity to lead the team. I take over this responsibility with utmost sincerity, but at the same time, I believe my job would be made easier with the talent we have at the Punjab Kings squad this season,” Agarwal views on Punjab Kings’ official website read.


“We have some vastly experienced players in our ranks, along with many talented youngsters who are keen to grab the opportunity and run with it. We have always taken to the field hoping to win the title and as a team, we will once again work towards this goal of lifting our maiden IPL trophy. I thank the team management for entrusting me with this new role of leading the side. I look forward to the new season and the new challenges it brings with it,” he added.



PBKS Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal (C), Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Shahrukh Khan, Liam Livingstone, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ishan Porel, Odeon Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Angad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Benny Howell

Matched Content Ad