South Africa Women to Host Tri-Series Against West Indies and India

ICC Women’s World Cup 2023
Image Source: ICC
Article top

ICC Women’s World Cup 2023: In order to prepare for the Women’s T20 World Cup at home in January–February 2023, South Africa will face West Indies and India in a T20I tri-series in East London.

The top two teams will face off in the championship game on February 2 at Buffalo Park. The three teams are slated to play each other twice during the round-robin round.

ICC Women’s World Cup 2023

The World Cup will begin on February 10 and conclude on February 26 at Newlands, Cape Town. South Africa is placed in a group with Australia, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and New Zealand at the World Cup. India, the West Indies, England, Ireland, and Pakistan are all members of Group B.

The top two teams will play in the championship match on February 2, following which there will be a little break until the World Cup begins on February 10. The three teams will have played each other twice during the round-robin round. Matches at the World Cup will be held in Cape Town, Gqeberha, and Paarl until February 26.

South Africa to Host Tri-Series against West Indies and India

South Africa is in Group A of the World Cup, along with tournament favorites Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka. Group B includes Pakistan, England, Ireland, and West Indies.

Australia has won the World Cup five times out of the seven tournaments, while England and the West Indies have each won the tournament once. While India made it to the final for the first time in the prior competition in 2020 in Australia, where Australia defeated them by 85 runs at the MCG, South Africa has never advanced to the championship stage.

Enoch Nkwe, CSA’s director of cricket said, “These two sides [India and West Indies] are up there with the most talented and entertaining nations in women’s T20 cricket, having featured in two of the last four finals, with the West Indies lifting the trophy in 2016,”

“This will give the Momentum Proteas a highly competitive build-up to the ultimate prize of the T20 World Cup.”

South Africa- West Indies- India Tri-series schedule:

Thursday, 19 January 2023 – South Africa vs India

Saturday, 21 January 2023 – South Africa vs West Indies

Monday, 23 January 2023 – India vs West Indies

Wednesday, 25 January 2023 – South Africa vs West Indies

Saturday, 28 January 2023 – South Africa vs India

Monday, 30 January 2023 – West Indies vs India

Thursday, 02 February 2023 – Tri-Series Final

Matched Content Ad