HomeICC Cricket World CupAustraliaRanked: Teams With Most ICC Trophies

Ranked: Teams With Most ICC Trophies

Teams With Most ICC Trophies

Teams With Most ICC Trophies: Both the finalists of the 2023 WTC had a chance to complete the ICC Trophy cabinet. Australia piped India comfortably to round off their trophy cabinet. The men’s flagship tournament started with the cricket World Cup in 1975. It was only in 1998 that ICC introduced the Champions Trophy in 1998. The first T20 World Cup came into inception in 2007. ICC’s dream of organizing a World Test Championship finally came true in 2019. There have been 30 ICC tournaments so far and only once there have been joint winners.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

We rank the teams based on their ICC Trophy wins:

#8 South Africa – 1

There are many cricketing fans who believe that South Africa has never won an ICC Trophy. But it was the Proteas who were the inaugural winners of the Champions Trophy in 1998. It remains their only ICC championship win to date.

#7 New Zealand – 2

They came close to winning two ODI World Cup finals in 2015 and 2019 while they also lost out in the 2021 T20 World Cup final. But New Zealand still has 2 ICC trophies to show. They won the Champions Trophy in 2000 and were the inaugural winners of the WTC in 2021.

#6 England – 3

They are one of the two sides to have won the T20 World Cup twice (2010 and 2022). England had the infamous record of losing out on the ODI World Cup finals until the 2019 World Cup. They won the tournament thanks to the boundary count rule. England has 3 ICC trophies in their cabinet so far.

#5 Sri Lanka – 3

They became the third Asian side to win the ODI World Cup in 1996. Sri Lanka then was declared the joint winners of the Champions Trophy in 2002. They added another world title to their name in 2014 when they won the 2014 T20 World Cup. Sri Lanka strangely hasn’t made it to any ICC final post this win.

#4 Pakistan – 3

Imran Khan-led Pakistan side created history by winning the 1992 World Cup. They won the T20 World Cup in 2009 when they defeated Sri Lanka. Pakistan’s crowning glory though in recent years has been their Champions Trophy win in 2017. They defeated arch-rivals India and hence it remains a sweet memory for Pakistani fans.

#3 West Indies – 5

They were the dominant side of the world for two decades. West Indies won consecutive ODI World Cups in 1975 and 1979. The side had to wait until 25 years to add to their trophy cabinet in 2004. Windies won the Champions Trophy in 2004. They became the first side in the world to win two T20 World Cups (2012 and 2016). 

#2 India – 5

They have lost 4 ICC finals in the last 9 years. India has been consistent but have not been dominant in ICC tournaments in the past decade. They won the ODI World Cup in 1983 and later won it in 2011 after 28 long years. India along with Sri Lanka were the joint winners of the Champions Trophy in 2002. They later defeated England in 2013 to win the Champions Trophy once again. India won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007. They have 5 ICC titles to their name.

#1 Australia – 9

There is a reason why Australia is regarded as a champion team. They bring out their best when they play in an ICC tournament. Australia’s complete ICC cabinet consists of multiple ODI World Cup wins including a hat trick (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015). They are the only side to win the Champions Trophy consecutively (2006 and 2009). Australia won their first T20 World Cup in 2021. They won the second edition of WTC to complete their trophy bouquet.

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024