Here’s how RCB won the WPL 2024 title 

How RCB won the WPL 2024 title?

The wait is finally over to see team RCB with a trophy as Smriti Mandhana led side made this dream into a reality with a WPL 2024 win.  

There’s a one famous dialogue from ‘Dangal’ movie that fits with this situation with little modifications that “Trophy to trophy hove hai, Chora lave ya chori”. 


Interestingly, RCB men’s team has failed to win the prestigious trophy despite playing for 16 seasons, while RCB women’s team has won the WPL title in only two seasons. However, one cannot compare the level of competitiveness between IPL and WPL, as there are as many as 10 teams competing in the current set up of IPL, while only 5 teams take part in WPL. 

But winning a title in a major league where all international players compete is indeed a big achievement.  

Let’s quickly look at how RCB won the WPL 2024 title?

Here’s how RCB won the WPL 2024 title?: After failing to secure a playoffs berth in the inaugural season of WPL in 2023, the RCB women did not lose hope and started their 2024 campaign on a high note with back-to-back wins.  

When everything appeared to be under control, the RCB lost their next two games, and the predicament of depending on other teams’ results to qualify for the playoffs resumed.  


With Gujarat and UP, both lost their last games, and RCB won their last league, the Smriti Mandhana-led team managed to reach the playoffs, where they defeated 2023 champions, Mumbai Indians women to secure finals berth.  

The task was not easy, as they had to face the table toppers, Delhi Capitals team, against whom they have lost 4 games and won none.  

The start of the finale was also not in favour of RCB, as after 7 overs, Delhi reached 64 for none in 7 overs, but what came next scripted history for Royal Challengers Bangalore.  

Bangalore’s spinners, Shreyanka Patil, Sophie Molinuex, and Asha Sobhana, broke the back of opponents, with 4, 3 and 2 wickets respectively.  

Chasing a target of 114 at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, the Smriti Mandhana-led side started off in a decent manner and without taking any much risk, they modestly chased in 19.3 overs with 8 wickets in hand.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel 

Ellyse Perry, who played a knock of unbeaten 35 against Delhi, won the orange cap for scoring 347 runs in 9 games. 

Shreyanka Patil of RCB, grabbed the most wickets in WPL, and has won the purple cap for taking 13 wickets in 8 games.  


Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Most Popular

Recent Comments