HomeIPL 2022IPL 2023: Six Most Expensive Finishers

IPL 2023: Six Most Expensive Finishers

Most Expensive Finishers: The role of a finisher is key to a team’s success. There are many games that are won or lost basis on how a team finishes at the end. It is the finishers who are the most sought-after players in a T20 setup. One can still not forget the T20 World Cup final in 2016 when Carlos Brathwaite smashed 4 sixes off 4 balls in the final over to help West Indies win the World Cup. There are few teams who have nailed the players who could finish the games for them. No wonder these players come at a premium.

We look at the 6 most expensive finishers in IPL 2023:

#6 Axar Patel – 12 crores 

He is arguably the least celebrated among others on this list. Axar Patel is a grossly underrated IPL player. He was crucial to the erstwhile Kings XI Punjab during his tenure with the team. Patel has since then been a vital cog in Delhi’s plans.

Delhi unlike other sides doesn’t have a conventional big-name superstar manning the end overs. It has largely been Axar Patel who has shouldered the responsibility of finishing the innings. Axar Patel’s salary in IPL 2023 amounts to INR 12 crores.  

#5 MS Dhoni – 12 crores

He is the original G.O.A.T of the IPL. There hasn’t been a finisher better than MS Dhoni, especially in the IPL. MS Dhoni has won games for CSK out of nowhere. He was the master of pacing his innings knowing when to attack and when to hold back. Dhoni is the highest earner in the IPL through player earnings. His current IPL annual salary is INR 12 crores.

#4 Rashid Khan – 15 crores

He was primarily known for his bowling skills until last season. Rashid Khan weaved his magic with the ball while playing for SRH. But disagreements over retention led to SRH releasing Rashid Khan ahead of the mega auction in 2022.

The Gujarat Titans picked Rashid Khan for INR 15 crores through the player draft. It is herein where Rashid showed off his all-round skills. He played quite a few decisive knocks for the Titans in the end overs displaying his finisher skills.

#3 Nicholas Pooran – 16 crores

He had his best IPL season in 2020 representing the Punjab Kings. Nicholas Pooran is one of those few overseas batsmen who is at ease attacking the spinners. It’s one of the factors that teams rate Pooran so highly. SRH bought him in excess of INR 10 crores at the mega auction in 2022. But they couldn’t define a clear role for the southpaw. 

He was released ahead of the 2023 mini-auction. LSG went a few steps further to buy Pooran for INR 16 crores. They have already outlined Pooran as their designated finisher for the upcoming auction.

#2 Ravindra Jadeja – 16 crores

He has gradually taken over the mantle of a finisher at CSK from MS Dhoni. Ravindra Jadeja has been in prime form with the bat in the last couple of years. He was one of the rare bright spots for CSK in an otherwise forgettable campaign in 2020.

Jadeja’s form with the bat helped CSK’s fearless batting exploits in 2021. They went on to win their fourth IPL title. He was CSK’s first choice of retention in the mega auction. CSK paid him a whopping INR 16 crores to Jadeja.

#1 Andre Russell – 16 crores 

He is one among the three players in IPL to have won the MVP award twice. Andre Russell continues to remain a force to reckon with, especially in batting-friendly conditions. He almost challenged Jos Buttler for the MVP award last year with his batting exploits. No boundary is big enough if Russell gets going. There was little surprise that KKR’s first choice retention was Andre Russell. He has been signed for INR 16 crores in this cycle.

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024