HomeLatest NewsICC And BCCI Dispute Over New Future Tours Program

ICC And BCCI Dispute Over New Future Tours Program

A scheduled meeting of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in Dubai on Monday has irked BCCI after the former has been advocating a new Future Tours Program (FTP). If it is passed, the ODI World Cup will be held once every three years and every alternate year, there will be a World T20.

The new FTP is all set to be approved by the ICC board without the approval of India, England, New Zealand, Australia, and the West Indies. If that were to happen, top sources in Indian cricket board were quoted as telling the Times Of India, “BCCI will not sign the Members’ Participation Agreement (MPA) with the ICC.”

There has been a standoff between the past BCCI presidents Anurag Thakur and N Srinivasan and ICC Present Shashank Manohar. After the new BCCI’s new office-bearers, including Sourav Ganguly, take over office on October 23, they look prepared to continue their long-standing dispute with the international cricket’s governing body.

A senior official of BCCI added, “In 2017, India came close to terminating their Members’ Participation Agreement with the ICC ahead of the Champions Trophy, before the COA intervened. The ICC chairman should not forget that this time there won’t be any such hindrance. India’s interests at the ICC cannot be ignored, and they (ICC) can’t be going ahead with this (FTP) when the BCCI is busy restructuring. What’s the hurry?”

ICC chief executive Manu Sawhney has reportedly undermined chief executives of the member boards in a bid to launch the FTP.

The strategy of holding the ODI World Cup every three years and a World T20 every alternate year is said to be an attempt at swelling revenues.

The BCCI CEO Rahul Johri, in an email to ICC, said, “The player workload management needs to be analyzed and it is essential for the ICC Cricket Committee to be involved in this matter.”

Raghu Kanda
Raghu Kandahttps://stumpsandbails.com/
Other than being an aspiring novelist, he is an avid cricket buff and an armchair critic. He writes for a living.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

Points Table

LPL 2024
MLC 2024
TNPL 2024
Galle Marvels8530010-0.059
Jaffna Kings8530010-0.392
Colombo Strikers8440080.583
B-Love Kandy8350060.033
Dambulla Sixers835006-0.269
LAK R513013-0.842
MI NY513013-0.070
Lyca Kovai Kings440080.784
Nellai Royal Kings42115-0.023
Trichy Grand Cholas422040.701
Chepauk Super Gillies422040.253
Siechem Madurai Panthers41213-1.237
IDream Tiruppur Tamizhans31202-0.032
Dindigul Dragons31202-0.413
SKM Salem Spartans41302-0.519

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Captains with most ICC Trophies Top-5 Batters with Most Runs in International Cricket Top 5 Bowlers With Most Wickets in Test Cricket Top 5 Indians with best strike rate in T20Is Top 5 Richest Cricket Boards in the World