HomeCricket NewsWhat is Super Smash League? New Zealand's Very Own T20 League

What is Super Smash League? New Zealand’s Very Own T20 League

One of the well-known T20 leagues, Super Smash, was founded in New Zealand in 2005. It is also one of the first T20 leagues. The name of the league has changed three to four times throughout the years, and it wasn’t well-known prior to the zenith of the T20 cricket league frenzy. The league will now kick off its 18th season on December 23, 2022, and the championship game will be played on February 11, 2023.

Since the Super Smash League began, all teams are only permitted to have two international players, which is uncommon in other T20 leagues. Because Super Smash League conflicts with a hectic international calendar for New Zealand and other teams, this is the case. Because of this, the league offers plenty of chances for domestic players to improve their skills.

Super Smash 2022-23 League Format

All the teams compete against one another in a round-robin manner similar to Super Smash. The top 4 clubs after the league stage advance to the preliminary final and championship game.

Super Smash 2022-23 Teams

The following six teams will play in the 18th Super Smash 2022-23:

  1. Auckland Aces
  2. Canterbury Kings
  3. Central Stags
  4. Northern Brave
  5. Otago Volts
  6. Wellington Firebirds

Super Smash 2022-23 Venues

  • Bay Oval
  • Sir John Davies Oval
  • Fitzherbert Park
  • Pukekura Park
  • Saxton Oval
  • Kennards Hire Community Oval
  • Seddon Park
  • Hagley Oval
  • Cello Basin Reserve
  • University of Otago Oval

Super Smash 2022-23 Schedule

Sr. No. Date Day Time (NZ) Match Venue
1 23 Dec 2022 Fri 18:40 Northern Brave (M) Vs Canterbury Kings Bay Oval
2 24 Dec 2022 Sat 14:40 Wellington Firebirds Vs Otago Volts Cello Basin Reserve
3 26 Dec 2022 Mon 17:30 Canterbury Kings Vs Auckland Aces Hagley Oval
4 27 Dec 2022 Tue 14:40 Central Stags Vs Wellington Firebirds Fitzherbert Park
5 28 Dec 2022 Wed 14:40 Otago Volts Vs Northern Brave (M) Sir John Davies Oval
6 29 Dec 2022 Thu 14:40 Otago Volts vs Auckland Aces Sir John Davies Oval
7 30 Dec 2022 Fri 14:40 Central Stags vs Canterbury Kings Pukekura Park
8 31 Dec 2022 Sat 13:40 Central Stags vs Northern Brave (M) Pukekura Park
9 01 Jan 2023 Sun 13:40 Canterbury Kings vs Wellington Firebirds Hagley Oval
10 02 Jan 2023 Mon 13:40 Auckland Aces Vs Otago Volts Kennards Hire Community Oval
11 04 Jan 2023 Wed 14:40 Wellington Firebirds vs Northern Brave (M) Cello Basin Reserve
12 05 Jan 2023 Thu 14:40 Central Stags vs Auckland Aces Pukekura Park
13 06 Jan 2023 Fri 15:00 Northern Brave (M) Vs Otago Volts Seddon Park
14 07 Jan 2023 Sat 13:40 Wellington Firebirds Vs Central Stags Cello Basin Reserve
15 08 Jan 2023 Sun 14:40 Auckland Aces Vs Canterbury Kings Kennards Hire Community Oval
16 13 Jan 2023 Fri 18:40 Canterbury Kings Vs Northern Brave (M) Hagley Oval
17 14 Jan 2023 Sat 13:40 Auckland Aces Vs Central Stags Kennards Hire Community Oval
18 15 Jan 2023 Sun 14:40 Otago Volts Vs Wellington Firebirds University of Otago Oval
19 20 Jan 2023 Fri 16:10 Auckland Aces Vs Wellington Firebirds Kennards Hire Community Oval
20 21 Jan 2023 Sat 14:40 Central Stags Vs Otago Volts Saxton Oval
21 22 Jan 2023 Sun 13:40 Northern Brave (M) Vs Auckland Aces Bay Oval
22 23 Jan 2023 Mon 14:40 Wellington Firebirds Vs Canterbury Kings Cello Basin Reserve
23 27 Jan 2023 Fri 15:00 Canterbury Kings Vs Central Stags Hagley Oval
24 28 Jan 2023 Sat 13:40 Northern Brave (M) Vs Wellington Firebirds Seddon Park
25 29 Jan 2023 Sun 14:40 Otago Volts Vs Central Stags University of Otago Oval
26 30 Jan 2023 Mon 14:40 Auckland Aces Vs Northern Brave (M) Kennards Hire Community Oval
27 03 Feb 2023 Fri 18:40 Northern Brave (M) Vs Central Stags Seddon Park
28 04 Feb 2023 Sat 13:40 Canterbury Kings Vs Otago Volts Hagley Oval
29 05 Feb 2023 Sun 13:40 Wellington Firebirds Vs Auckland Aces Cello Basin Reserve
30 06 Feb 2023 Mon 14:40 Otago Volts Vs Canterbury Kings University of Otago Oval
31 09 Feb 2023 Thu QUALIFIER 2 Vs QUALIFIER 3 TBC


Himani Verma
Himani Vermahttps://stumpsandbails.com
Passionate about cricket the same way Jim was about pranking Dwight!

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024