HomeCricket NewsTests - Most Player Of The Series Awards

Tests – Most Player Of The Series Awards

Most Player Of The Series Test Awards

There are a handful of players who look at Test cricket as the game’s number one format. They have continued to put up impressive performances in the format. These players have gone on to be the game changers in many series over the years. Their contribution was the biggest towards the team’s success. Let us look at the Most Player Of The Series Test Awards in detail.

For more Cricket News and Updates Join our Telegram Channel

We look at the list of active players with the most Player Of The Series Test Awards:

#11 Virat Kohli – 3

He has been India’s standout batsman in the format right since he made his Test debut. Virat Kohli’s best years as a Test batter were in the 2016-19 phase where he kept churning out runs for fun. He has won 3 player of the series award so far out of the 40 series he has played in.

#10 Dean Elgar – 3

He is one of the most stubborn cricketers of this generation. Dean Elgar is someone who won’t concede an inch to the opposition. The South African Test skipper is a fine leader of men. He is the last of his kind player who plays the format the hard way. Elgar has won the award 3 times in 35 series.

#9 Angelo Matthews – 4

He started off his career as a genuine all-rounder. Angelo Matthews then developed into a pure batsman at the Test level. He had a career-defining season in 2014 when he led Sri Lanka with aplomb. Matthews in his 13-year-old career has played 100 Tests so far. He has won the award 4 times in 45 series.

#8 Dimuth Karunaratne – 4

He has been Sri Lanka’s leading Test batsman for quite some time now. Dimuth Karunaratne became the only Asian captain to lead his side to win in South Africa. The southpaw made his debut in 2012 and has played 82 Tests so far. Karunaratne has won the coveted prize 4 times in 39 series so far.

#7 Ben Stokes – 4

He has invoked a brand new spirit of cricket within the England Test team. The side has just lost a single Test out of the last ten they have played so far. Ben Stokes is a match-winner in the true sense of the term. He can change the fate of the game with both the bat and the ball. Stokes has won the award 4 times out of the 33 series he has played.

#6 Steve Smith – 4

He is arguably the finest Test batsman since Sir Don Bradman. Steve Smith started his career bowling wrist spin emulating Shane Warne. His batting greatness came to the fore in 2013 post a breakthrough Ashes in 2013 in England. Smith since then has plundered attacks for fun. He is one of the rare batsmen who has excelled across all conditions. Smith has won the award 4 times out of the 32 series he has featured in.

#5 James Anderson – 5

He is the only one on this list who has played for over three decades. James Anderson is surely one of the greatest Test pacers in the history of the game. He is second on the list of players to have played the most Tests (178). Anderson has won the award 5 times out of the 64 series he has played.

#4 Joe Root – 5

He has been batting on a different level in Tests since the start of 2021. Joe Root has been England’s Test batter right since he made his Test debut in 2012. He has been in sizzling form in the last couple of years. Root has won the award 5 times in the 42 series he has played so far.

#3 Shakib Al Hasan – 5

There is little doubt that Shakib Al Hasan is Bangladesh’s finest cricketer of all time. The all-rounder has won games for his side singlehandedly. If Hasan doesn’t get you with his batting then he will surely get you with his bowling. He has won the award 5 times out of the 39 series he has represented the side.

#2 David Warner – 5

He might seem a surprising number two on this list. But that speaks volumes about David Warner’s impact as a Test match player. He has the capability to turn around a Test match in just a session. The diminutive left-hander has won the award 5 times out of a total of 35 series he has played in.

#1 Ravichandran Ashwin – 9

He is miles ahead of any other player on this list. Ravichandran Ashwin has been India’s biggest match-winner in Tests right since he made his debut in 2011. Ashwin became the second quickest to pick 450 Tests in just 89 Tests.

He has won the prize 9 times in just 37 series he has competed in. He wins the award every fourth series he plays in. Ashwin is second on the all-timers list with only Muttiah Muralitharan (11 wins in 61 series) ahead of him.

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.










Most Popular

Recent Comments