Bangladesh Announces 15-man Team For 2021 T20 World Cup

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Image Source:
Article top

Bangladesh Announces 15-man Team by the BCB on Thursday, September 9. The news came after the Tigers won their first T20I series versus New Zealand with a six-wicket success on 08th September at Dhaka’s Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

The Tigers will be led by Mahmudullah Riyad at the big tournament, which will begin on October 17. Mahmudullah is Bangladesh’s most successful T20I captain, despite winning 13 of 26 games. During the current series versus the Black Caps, the Mymensingh man exceeded the great Mashrafe Mortaza, who has 10 victories from 28 T20Is from 2014 to 2017.

Tamim Iqbal will be out of the T20 World Cup, despite not having played since March 2020. The contenders for the vacancies are Mohammad Naim Shaikh, Soumya Sarkar, and Liton Das. Mushfiqur Rahim has stated that he does not want to keep wickets, thus Nurul Hasan Sohan would most probably be seen with the holding gloves in the multi-nation event.


Shamim Hossain Patwary, who has climbed the ranks since the Bangladesh U19s’ World Cup victory in 2020, also has been considered. Mahedi Hasan and Afif Hossain Dhrubo make up the middle order, and both have recently impressed. With the ball in his hands, Mahedi has shown to be a valuable asset. Nasum Ahmed has also been recognized for his outstanding performances against the Australians and New Zealanders.

In 2021, Shakib Al Hasan was struggling with the bat, but during the Zimbabwe trip, he rediscovered his confidence. He was also awarded as ‘Player of the Series’ in the match versus Australia. Mustafizur Rahman, the left-armer, has been a difficult client to manage with, particularly in spin-friendly circumstances.

Other pacers in the lineup are Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, and Shoriful Islam. Rubel Hossain, the Tigers’ World Cup hero in 2015, and leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob were named to the reserves. Mosaddek Hossain was unable to secure a spot in the lineup.

Bangladesh Team for 2021 T20 World Cup:

Mahmudullah Riyad (C), Mohammad Naim Sheikh, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shamim Hossain

Reserves: Rubel Hossain, Aminul Islam Biplob

Matched Content Ad