Ajit Agarkar Most Likely To Be India’s Next Chairman Of Selection Committee


India will soon have a new chairman of the selection committee. BCCI has introduced a brand new structure where the candidate with probably the most Test cap will become the next selector. The current chairman of the selection committee, Sunil Joshi has featured in 15 Tests. Harvinder Singh is the other selector from Central Zone.

Former pacer Ajit Agarkar can be appointed by the BCCI

Former Indian speedster Ajit Agarkar is likely to be the new chairman of the Indian cricket team’s selection committee, based on his long and successful international career. Ajit Agarkar is amongst the leading candidates to clinch the selector’s spot from West Zone. Agarkar has represented India in 26 Tests and 191 ODIs. The 43-year-old can be the next chairman of the panel.

Other than Agarkar, Abey Kuruvilla and Nayan Mongia have have applied for the post from West. From the North Zone: Chetan Sharma, Maninder Singh, Vijay Dahiya, Ajay Ratra, and Nikhil Chopra and East—Shiv Sunder Das, Debashish Mohanty, and Ranadeb Bose are identified to have utilized.

Agarkar is among the 11 candidates shortlisted by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) for the three vacancies in the selection panel for the national cricket team. The Madan Lal-led Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) shall be interviewing candidates nearly on Thursday, to fill three vacancies within the senior choice committee. 

Agarkar will lead the committee as per BCCI’s norm of awarding the chairman post to the most capped member of the group. The selection panel is currently headed by former left-arm spinner Sunil Joshi, who played 15 Tests, while the only other selector with his tenure remaining – Harvinder Singh – has never played Test cricket. On the other hand, Agarkar has represented India in 26 Tests.

The three openings were created by Jatin Paranjpe (West Zone), Devang Gandhi (East), and Sarandeep Singh (North) completing their tenures.

From the North Zone – Chetan Sharma, Maninder Singh, Vijay Dahiya, Ajay Ratra, and Nikhil Chopra; and from the East Zone – Shiv Sunder Das, Debashish Mohanty, and Ranadeb Bose are known to have applied. These men have also sent their applications for the vacant positions to BCCI.

The Test series against England, scheduled to be held from February 2021 onwards, will be the first assignment for the new selection committee that will be constituted after a round of video interviews by the CAC, under the leadership of Madan Lal.

That aside, the choice of three posts shall be ratified: a BCCI vice-president and two members of the IPL governing council. Rajiv Shukla will return as vice-president and Brijesh Patel will proceed as IPL chairman. The BCCI’s gamers’ physique has appointed former spinner Pragyan Ojha to exchange Surinder Khanna as their consultant within the governing council.

Matched Content Ad


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here