How Pakistan will succeed under Shahid Afridi’s regime

Shahid Afridi new Interim Chief Selector
image source: Twitter
Article top

Shahid Afridi new Interim Chief Selector of Pakistan Cricket

Shahid Afridi new Interim Chief Selector: Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi has been appointed as the new interim Chief selector of the Pakistan cricket team. This decision has made many fans and players happy. People are happy because they know the main Chief person is now a former player and this makes this decision even wiser.

Pakistan has been struggling for a long time and it seems that they need to change a few things around to get success. This was the first step where they appointed a new Chief Selector and a former player. This makes the fans feel relaxed. This is because he will now make appropriate changes and make a better team for the upcoming fixtures.

Already making the Required moves for the upcoming series 

Shahid Afridi added three bowlers to the team on Saturday, only hours after being designated the interim chief selector by the Pakistan Cricket Board for the upcoming two-match home Test series against New Zealand. The series will start on Monday.

The interim selection committee, which was presided over by Afridi, met and decided to add the three bowlers, according to the Board. The gathering was attended by Captain Babar Azam.

Why include 3 new Bowlers?

The main reason for adding new bowling to the squad aim was to strengthen the team. Shahid Afridi said the selectors had a fruitful conversation about the team and decided that the bowling unit needed to be strengthened to offer the team the best opportunity to virtually take 20 wickets in a game.

Shahid Afridi’s Comments after the first move 

Afridi after his first move stated that “As such, and taking into consideration recent form and performances, we have added fast bowlers Mir Hamza and Shahnawaz Dahani, and off-spinner Sajid Khan. I am confident the inclusion of three additional bowling resources will give Babar Azam more options to field the best available squad for the first Test.”

Current Pakistan Squad for the Test series against New Zealand;

Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Hasan Ali, Abrar Ahmed, Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Nawaz, Noman Ali, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Sajid Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Zahid Mehmood, Shahnawaz Dahani, and Naseem Shah.

Matched Content Ad