Olivier Returns As South Africa Announce 21-Man Team For India Series

Duanne Olivier
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has confirmed their 21-man lineup for the upcoming 3-match Test series versus India, which begins on December 26 at home. Duanne Olivier, who last featured for South Africa in 2019, has now been called back following a tweak in the CSA’s Kolpak system. As a result, the speedster would be eager to create a reputation for himself in national colours. He’ll be joined by Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje, who has been rested for the last ODI series versus the Netherlands.

The experienced wicketkeeper-batsman, Quinton de Kock, has also been recalled for the crucial series. Dean Elgar will captain the team, with Temba Bavuma serving as his deputy. Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen and Keshav Maharaj, are some of the notable players in the team, and the seniors have huge expectations.

Furthermore, national selectors picked Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen, whereas Ryan Rickelton and Sisanda Magala were given their debut Test call-ups. Noticeably, in June, South Africa thrashed the West Indies 2-0 in their penultimate Test match. Dean Elgar’s team is likely to put up a comparable result versus India.


“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time,” Victor Mpitsang, the Convenor of Selectors, said in a statement.

However, this series will serve as a warm-up for South Africa’s World Test Championship campaign, which extends from 2021 to 2023. “This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil,” said Victor Mpitsang further.

South Africa’s squad:

Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.

Matched Content Ad