NZ Announce 15-Man Squad Which Includes Williamson And BJ In WTC Final Against IND

New Zealand Squad For WTC Final 2021
Image Source :

The much-anticipated ICC World Test Championship final between India and New Zealand is set to begin on June 18 at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton. Unlike past ICC tournaments, the Kiwis will not be the losers in this match. Kane Williamson‘s team has been outstanding in red-ball cricket lately, and they are favorites to beat India in the top battle. let’s discuss, New Zealand Squad For WTC Final 2021

In fact, they will enter the WTC final with a 1-0 Test series victory against hosts England. The Blackcaps announced their 15-man squad for the match against India on June 15. Ajaz Patel has been named the specialist spinner, while Colin de Grandhomme, Will Young, and Tom Blundell have all been retained. After the England Test series, Doug Bracewell, Jacob Duffy, Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, and Mitchell Santner were all removed.

On team selections, the NZ head Coach Gary Stead commented that Ajaz Patel will be a huge asset for the team in Southampton, as he took four wickets in the second Test against England. “We’ve gone with Ajaz as our specialist spinner after an impressive outing at Edgbaston, and we believe he could be a factor at the Ageas Bowl,” said Stead in a statement.

‘Kane and BJ have certainly benefitted from their week of rest and rehabilitation’- Gary Stead

Kane Williamson, the regular captain, and wicketkeeper-batsman BJ Watling, who were both injured in the second Test against England, are expected to be fit for the finals, according to the Kiwi coach. “Kane and BJ have certainly benefitted from their week of rest and rehabilitation, and we expect them to be fit and available for the final,” asserted Stead.

After an excellent performance against England, Matt Henry has been added to the pace group of Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult, and Neil Wagner. Devon Conway and Ross Taylor scored runs in the England series, and they’ll be looking to repeat the same against India. The major focus, however, would be on captain Kane Williamson, who would be returning from injury.

New Zealand Squad For WTC Final 2021

Kane Williamson (C), Tom Blundell (WK), Trent Boult, Devon Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (WK), Will Young.

Also read: 4 Most Selfless Acts In Cricket History


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here