KL Rahul Likely To Captain India For ODI Series Against South Africa

KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma
Image Source: Twitter.com
Article top

View below topics in this post

Eagerly awaited India ODI team for the series versus South Africa has finally been released. The squad confirmation was postponed since the newly elected captain, Rohit Sharma, did not recover from a hamstring strain in the schedule. KL Rahul is poised to captain India for the very first time, and Virat Kohli, who has declared his availability, is also on the team as a player. Jasprit Bumrah has been selected vice-captain of the team. We discussed here about India’s Captain & Squad For ODI Series.

India’s Captain & Squad For ODI Series

Ravi Ashwin, an off-spinner, has surged return into the limited-overs format and has been included in the ODI squad for the 1st time after 2017. He last featured for India in the format in June 2017 in the West Indies, but he went out of the box with the wrist spinners Chahal and Kuldeep. As Kuldeep has reportedly out, whereas Chahal has managed it to the 18-man team.

Furthermore, Ruturaj Gaikwad has been recognized for his outstanding performance in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this season, in which he scored four hundreds in 5- matches. Ultimately, he completed 603 runs with an incredible average of 150.75 and a top score of 168. Meanwhile, it is unclear if he would be given an opportunity because Shikhar Dhawan, who captained India’s decimated side in Sri Lanka in July 2021, has been named.


Venkatesh Iyer‘s progress in international cricket resumes with his first ODI call-up. He performed admirably in the T20I series versus New Zealand at home, and he was also quite brilliant for Madhya Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. In six games, he amassed 379 runs at an average of 63.16 and a strike rate of 133.92. Iyer had two hundred and a fifty, with a top score of 151.

Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Deepak Chahar, are also anticipated to be in the team. Prasidh Krishna has been chosen after performing in the ODI series against England, whilst Shardul Thakur remains in India’s teams across all forms, and so has Mohammed Siraj following his performance in Tests. Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel, both all-rounders, were ruled out owing to injuries.

Furthermore, Washington Sundar is going to make a comeback following a lengthy injury break. Simultaneously, Ishan Kishan has been kept after being selected for the Sri Lanka ODIs. The three-match One-Day International series will begin on January 19 at Boland Park in Paarl. On January 21, the very same location shall host the 2nd ODI.

Team India’s ODI Squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj

Matched Content Ad