Ireland announce squad for ODI series against New Zealand

Ireland Squad For New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Cricket Ireland has announced a 14-member squad for the 3-match ODI series against New Zealand starting from July 10.

Two North West Warriors players—top-order batsman Stephen Doheny and bowling all-arounder Graham Hume—have been called up to the squad. Cricket Ireland recently granted retainer contracts to both players.

Doheny, 23, who plays club cricket for Merrion, has scored 158 runs at an average of 52.67 and has the top score of 74* in the Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy competition. In the 50-over interprovincial competition, Doheny has amassed significant runs at the top of the order, scoring 146 runs at 36.50 with the maximum score of 97.

Hume, on the other hand, who just obtained resident status in Ireland, represents Waringstown in club competition. Hume has taken 10 wickets this season in the interprovincial 50-over competition at an average of just 9.40 and 7 wickets in the T20 Trophy competition at an average of 14.71.

The series between Ireland and New Zealand will be part of the ICC World Cup Super League.

Ireland Men’s ODI squad for the New Zealand series:

Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young.

Andrew White, Chair of National Men’s Selectors, said: “Taking on the world’s number one ODI side will always be a challenge, but with 30 World Cup Super League points on the line, this series becomes even more significant. One-day cricket is the format we have performed most consistently in over the last few years, and despite the age profile of many in the squad is young, they have gained some important experience in recent times in finding ways of winning against top sides.

All of three one-day internationals will be played at the village in Dublin.

Apart from 3 ODIs, team Ireland will play 3 T20Is against the New Zealand as well starting from July 18.

Matched Content Ad