Shikhar Dhawan To Lead Team India In ODI Series Against West Indies

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead Team India
Image Source: Stumpsandbails
Article top

View below topics in this post

The southpaw, Shikhar Dhawan, has been announced as the new captain for team India by the BCCI All-India Selection Committee on Wednesday.

The committee has picked the squads for the three-match ODI series against the West Indies to be played at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad.

The blue and orange brigade is going to be a part of Caribbean tour just before the Asia Cup which is going to be held in the month of August.

The new squad brings primary change with obvious players like Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammad Shami not being present.

The other important change the new squad is going to observe would be vice-captain with Ravindra Jadeja being nominated for the post.

Shikhar Dhawan To Lead Team India:

Dhawan is going to be a captain for the second time. He has been named the ODI captain for the first time in the last year during the tour to Sri Lanka where the team had participated in 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is.

Apart from Jadeja, who took part in the rescheduled fifth test match against England, there are four other players the committee has named in the list and they are Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammad Siraj, and Shardul Thakur.

Despite their dismal outings in the recently concluded Test match versus England, Gill and Iyer were able to make it by placing themselves for the West Indies tour.

Team’s ODI squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh

India tour of West Indies, 2022 (ODIs)
Sr. No. Day Date Match Venue
1 Friday 22nd July 1st ODI Port of Spain
2 Sunday 24th July 2nd ODI Port of Spain
3 Wednesday 27th July 3rd ODI Port of Spa


Matched Content Ad