HomeLatest NewsSneak Peak Into India's First-Ever Series Victory Over Australia On This Day...

Sneak Peak Into India’s First-Ever Series Victory Over Australia On This Day In 1979

Indian Had Defeated Australia By An Innings And 100 Runs To Clinch The Six-Match Test Series By 2-1:

Sunil Gavaskar and Dilip Doshi smashed a century each on November 7, 1979, while Dilip Doshi shone with the ball to help the Indian men’s cricket team thrash Australia to mark their first-ever series victory over the side in the sixth and final Test match.

The International Cricket Council ( ICC) took to its official Twitter handle and told its supporters that with a crushing win of an innings and 100 runs over the Aussies, the Indian men’s cricket team produced history on this day more than four decades ago.

The world’s cricket governing body wrote, ‘Sunil Gavaskar 123 Syed Kirmani 101* Dilip Doshi 8/103 #OnThisDay in 1979, India won an innings and 100 runs to clinch their first ever series victory over Australia.’

The then-Gavaskar-led India won the toss and elected to bat first at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai during the sixth Test against Australia. Before the latter fell for 178-run 73 on a Geoff Dymock delivery, Gavaskar not only brought up a cool and composed half-century but also shared a mammoth partnership of 192 runs with Chetan Chauhan.

While for six and 10 runs, respectively, Dilip Vengasarkar and Gundappa Viswanath left cheaply, Gavaskar proceeded to score a blistering knock of 123 runs containing 17 boundaries.

Then Syed Kirmani scored a crucial unbeaten knock of 101 runs off 206 balls and he was well-supported by Karsan Ghavri, who hammered a 99-ball 86 for eight to help India post a mammoth total of 458.

Dilip Doshi ended up with brilliant figures of five for 43 in response, while Shivlal Yadav took four wickets while conceding only 40 runs to assist India bundle Australia for 160 and enforce follow-on.

With 60 runs, Graham Yallop was the top scorer for the hosts, while all the other Australian batsmen dropped cheaply. Kapil Dev bagged four wickets in Australia ‘s second-innings, while Doshi added three more wickets to his account to assist India bowl out Australia for 198 runs and secure a huge victory.

For the home side, Karsan Ghavri and Shivlal Yadav both chipped in with a wicket each. The notable contributors were Allan Border and the then Australian skipper Kim Hughes with 61 and 80 runs, respectively.

Though the first two matches and the fourth and fifth Test series clashes between the two sides ended in a draw, India swept Australia aside by 153 runs in the second match to finish the series with a 2-0 victory.

Neelam Shaw
Neelam Shawhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a journalist carrying experience in Crime journalism. And I am passionate about cricket which has driven me to pick up Sports reporting and writing. I bring you the latest happening in the cricket world both at National and International level.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024