HomeLatest NewsICC Awards Best Of The Decade Announced: Virat Kohli Wins Big!

ICC Awards Best Of The Decade Announced: Virat Kohli Wins Big!

Cricket fans were waiting in anticipation to know who will win the best of the decade category ICC awards. The ICC has finally announced the winners today and Indian cricketers have won big at the ICC awards of the decade. Stumpsandbails brings to you the complete list of winners who dominated the decade and richly deserve the award.

Also Read | Stumpsandbails: Flop ODI XI Of 2020

ICC Cricketer of the Decade (Male):

Virat Kohli was rightfully declared the ICC cricketer of the Decade (Sir Garfield Sobers Award) as Kohli had a phenomenal run of scores during this decade. Kohli accumulated 20,396 international runs which comprised 66 centuries and 94 half-centuries. He also held the record of having the highest average of 56.97 across all formats.

No one came close to Kohli in terms of dominating the game across formats in this decade. Virat Kohli was also appointed as the captain of the Test Team of the Decade. He was the only cricketer whose name featured in all three teams (across formats). King Kohli was head and shoulders above everyone else in this decade.

Other major winners:

Steve Smith (Australia) was chosen as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Decade (Male) as he had scored a phenomenal 7040 runs in this period at ab astounding average of 65.79. He helped himself to 26 centuries and 28 fifties En route to his glorious run of form this decade.

Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) was declared the ICC T20I cricketer of the Decade (Male) for his fabulous exploits in the shortest format of the game.

While run-machine Virat Kohli was anointed the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Decade (Male) for being the only player to score more than 10,000 runs in the ODI format during the decade. He amassed 39 ODI centuries and scored his runs at a spellbinding average of 61.83.

Captain Cool Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been conferred the “ICC Spirit of Cricket Award of the Decade” for his gesture to recall England batsman Ian Bell during the 2011 Nottingham Test. MS Dhoni was also appointed the captain of both the limited-overs sides for the team of the decade.

Also Read | IND vs AUS: Ajinkya Rahane Wins Social Media For His Gesture After Getting Run Out

Female winners:

ICC Female Cricketer of the decade: Ellyse Perry (Australia)
Women’s ODI Cricketer of the decade: Ellyse Perry (Australia)
Women’s T20I Cricketer of the decade: Ellyse Perry (Australia)

Vignesh Rajagopal
Vignesh Rajagopalhttps://stumpsandbails.com/
I am a passionate cricket lover, who likes to express his views on the beautiful game and share insights and analysis about the finer aspects of the sport.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Bowlers with Most Wickets for India in T20Is Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024