HomeCricket NewsAll You Need To Know About IPL Media Rights

All You Need To Know About IPL Media Rights

After the thrilling season of the IPL 2022, it’s time to predict who will win the IPL media rights for the years 2023-2027. Here in this article, we talk about IPL media rights for 2023-2027.

Everyone is aware of the Indian Premier League‘s popularity, which is why every major corporation wants to acquire the IPL’s media rights. The E-auction for the IPL’s media-rights will take place June 12.

The last time the IPL media rights were auctioned was in 2017 for the 2018-2022 season. Star Sports won a consolidated offer for digital and television worth a total of NR 16,347.5 crore.

Process of IPL media rights for 2023-2027 cycle?

The procedure has been broken down into four distinct packages (A, B, C, and D).

Package A is a television-only bracket for the Indian subcontinent, whilst Package B is a digital-only bracket for the same region.

Package C is a collection of unique matchups including the final, playoff matches, the tournament opener, and a few evening weekend games will be included. In a 74-match IPL, there will be a total of 18 games. Finally, for the remainder of the world, package D is a combined bracket (TV and digital). This is separated into two countries, one of which might be the entire world or five distinct territories.

Let’s now look at base price of all the packages

Package A – Rs. 49 cr. per match

Package B – Rs. 33 cr. per match

Package C – Rs 11 cr. per match

Package D – Rs. 3 cr. per match

However, unlike last time, no one will be able to win a consolidated bid in this auction because all four packages will be up for individual bidding. However, a single corporation can win many bids.

Who will win?

As per the latest development, Amazon has pulled out of the Indian Premier League media rights auction race.

Despite Amazon’s withdrawal, several of the country’s largest media companies are anticipated to engage in some competitive bidding. Walt Disney Co., that runs Disney-Star, and Reliance Industries Ltd. through Viacom18/Reliance are the top two biggest names in the race.

The 15th edition of the IPL, which featured 74 matches, finished on a high note with Gujarat Titans winning their maiden title in their first season.

Vineet Vashisht
Vineet Vashisht
Experienced News-writer and presenter with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry.

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.







Most Popular

Recent Comments

Top 5 Captains with Most Runs in T20 World Cups From Virat Kohli to Surya Kumar Yadav India’s Top Five Run Scorers in T20I Format ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024