Perth Scorchers sign English duo Adam Lyth and Stephen Eskinazi

Big Bash League 12
Image Source: Twitter
Article top

Adam Lyth & Stephen Eskinazi sign for Perth Scorchers

BBL 12: Defending champions Perth Scorchers sign two new players. After losing Phil Salt, Laurie Evans, and Mitchell Marsh for the season.

Big Bash League 12: One of three new hires announced by the team today is English opener and power-play specialist Adam Lyth. Who has been signed to fill in for injured countryman Phil Salt in the lineup. Stephen Eskinazi of Middlesex will be the Scorchers’ fourth foreign acquisition.

Just one week before the Perth Scorchers’ season opening. A 35-year-old former Test cricketer Adam Lyth has been called up as an emergency international substitute to help the team’s battered top order. Lyth is eligible for the first half of the season, just like Faf du Plessis, a coveted addition and former captain of South Africa.

BBL 12: England Batsman Adam Lyth

Lyth participated in the 2015 Ashes series and seven Tests for England, all of which were played in 2015. Lyth has since made a commitment to the short-form circuit and most recently played for the Northern Warriors in the Abu Dhabi T10 League.

BBL 12: Who did Adam Lyth replace?

Lyth is a direct replacement for Salt after he was withdrawn from the BBL due to a shoulder injury at the same time Marsh was ruled out. The Yorkshire and Northern Superchargers top order batter give Scorchers a badly needed left-handed option in the top order after they were unable to secure long-time overseas player Colin Munro in the overseas draft.

BBL 12: 28-year Old Stephen Eskinazi

Despite the fact that Eskinazi holds dual citizenship in Australia and England. The Scorchers must register him as an international player in order to fulfil the terms of his primary domestic contract with Middlesex.

The 28-year-old, who starts the batting for Claremont with new Scorchers teammate Nick Hobson. He is not considered to be a first-choice option for the club this season. But he might enter the running in the later rounds of the competition if the batting order becomes overstretched due to absences.

BBL 12: Current Perth Scorchers Squad;

Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Faf du Plessis, Stephen Eskinazi, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matt Kelly, Adam Lyth, Hamish McKenzie, Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye

Matched Content Ad