Australia Includes Josh Inglis In 15-Man Team For T20 WC-2021

Australia Team For T20 World Cup 2021
Image Source:
Article top

Right-handed batsmen and wicketkeeper, Josh Inglis has been called up to Australia’s 15-man team for the T20 World Cup in 2021. Over the previous several years, the 26-year-old has been a frequent contributor in the white-ball games. Here is Australia Team For T20 World Cup 2021

He used his charm for Leicestershire in the 2021 T20 Blast after proving his worth for Perth Scorchers in the Big Bash League. He now holds the record for the most runs scored in the English domestic game, with 531 runs scored at an avg of 48.27 and a strike rate of 175.82.

Australia Team For T20 World Cup 2021

Inglis also completed 2 centuries and a half-century of service. During the first Men’s Hundred, he took the opening role for the London Spirit. His abilities were difficult for the national selectors to ignore.

“Josh has been on our radar for some time with his performances in white-ball cricket and more recently in the Vitality Blast where he topped the run charts,” selection chair George Bailey said in an Interaction.

“He offers the squad flexibility in the batting order with his adaptability, counterattacking ability, and power striking. He is a player we are excited about for the future,” he added.

Despite the fact that Aaron Finch’s participation in the major event is questionable, the Australians have selected him as captain. After aggravating his knee injury, Finch missed the ODIs against West Indies and the T20Is versus Bangladesh. It was previously stated that he will have treatment on his right knee.

Having missed the West Indies and Bangladesh T20Is, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Pat Cummins,  David Warner, and Marcus Stoinis have rejoined the team.

Australia has chosen Matthew Wade to take over the glove job alternative in addition to Inglis. Alex Carey, who appeared in Bangladesh, was unable to secure a place in the team.

Josh Phillipe of the Sydney Sixers was also dropped out. The backups for the major event are Daniel Sams, experienced all-rounder Daniel Christian, and Nathan Ellis. On October 23, Australia will begin its campaign facing South Africa.

Australia squad:

Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams.

Also read: IPL 2021: BCCI Sets Deadline For Franchises To Finalise Squad

Matched Content Ad