AFG Vs PAK: Afghanistan Confirms 17-Man Squad For ODI Series

IND vs AFG ODI Series
Image Source:

For the upcoming three-match One-Day International series against Pakistan, Afghanistan has named a 17-man team. In September, the series will be held in the UAE as part of the World Cup Super League. Afghanistan Announce Squad For ODI Series.

Afghanistan Announce Squad For ODI Series Against Pakistan

The Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) is likely to reveal the competition’s dates soon. It will be Hashmatullah Shahidi’s and Rahmat Shah’s initial task as ODI captain and vice-captain, respectively. Afghanistan’s previous 50-over encounter was in January when they won all 3-games of a three-match series versus Ireland.

In terms of the team, former captain Asghar Afghan is no longer a member of the group. Despite guiding the squad to a sweep over Ireland, he was just relieved of his leadership. This indicates that Afghanistan is planning to have a squad at the 2023 World Cup. However, experienced all-rounder Mohammad Nabi is included in the lineup, whereas Rashid Khan will return to the national team.

Pakistan And Afghanistan Last Met Was In The 2019 World Cup

Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who might begin the innings in the series, are two more interesting players on the side. Sediq Atal and Abdul Rehman, for instance, have been included in the team as a result of their domestic efforts. Additionally, Saleem Safi, Yousuf Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Qais Ahmad, have been chosen as bench players by the authorities.

The last time Pakistan and Afghanistan met was in the 2019 World Cup, which was held in England. The game had been too close between the two sides up until that point. Afghanistan scored 227 runs in 50 overs, both Afghan and Najibullah Zadran making significant contributions.

Pakistan, in turn, was in poor condition with only 156 runs on the scoreboard and 4 wickets in hand at one point. Even though emotions boiled in the audience throughout the day, Imad Wasim, the all-rounder, played a fantastic game. Pakistan won the match in the last over, indicating that the three-match ODI series starting in September will be interesting to watch.

Afghanistan Team:

Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Sediq Atal, Rahmat Shah(VC), Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Alikhil (WK), Shahid Kamal, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmat Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Abdul Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Noor Ahmed.

Reserved Players:

Qais Ahmad, Yousuf Zazai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, and Saleem Safi.

Also Read: Greetings Floods On Social Media As Chahal Turned 31

Matched Content Ad