5 Players Who Made Their IPL Debut In 2013 With Bumrah

5 players who made their IPL debut in 2013 along with Bumrah
5 players who made their IPL debut in 2013 along with Bumrah

Jasprit Bumrah made his IPL debut in 2013. John Wright, Mumbai Indians scout asked Bumrah to audition for the trials. MI had no hesitation in picking him up in the auctions. Bumrah was a prized acquisition as MI bought him for just INR 10 lacs. His first IPL wicket was Virat Kohli.

Bumrah then went on to represent India across all formats. He is now one of the leading bowlers not just for the country but in world cricket. There were other players too who made their IPL debut in 2013.

We look at 5 such players who made their IPL debut in 2013:

#5 Mohit Sharma

Mohit Sharma made a sensational IPL debut in 2013. CSK who lacked an outright Indian pacer invested in Mohit Sharma. He ended up with 20 wickets in his debut season itself.

Sharma went one better the next season [2014] picking 23 wickets. He won the purple cap that season. Sharma soon became an IPL commoner. He was drafted into the Indian team. Sharma went on to play the 2015 ODI World Cup. But post that high, his career decelerated.

#4 Chris Morris

Chris Morris was another CSK import in 2013. The tall bowling South African allrounder was touted to be a talent for the future. CSK made no qualms in hiring him immediately. He had a splendid IPL debut season. Morris was lethal with the ball and effective with the bat. He too much like other players on the list went on to play international cricket across all formats.

#3 Jason Holder

The 6 feet 7 inches tall West Indian allrounder is one of the most underrated cricketers in the world. His IPL journey too remains pretty much the same. Despite being ranked the best all-rounder in the world, he never gets due credit. Holder made his IPL debut with CSK. Owing to the presence of other decorated stars, Holder could never really get his due.

#2 Quinton De Kock

Quinton De Kock remains one of the world’s most explosive wicketkeeper-batsman. He is an absolute beast in the limited-overs format. Not many had predicted that De Kock will go on to dominate international cricket back when he made his debut. SRH signed Kock for $20,000 in 2013. But he really came into his own with his stint at Delhi. He was one of MI’s key players in their successive title wins [2019-20].

#1 KL Rahul

Not many remember that KL Rahul made his IPL debut with RCB. The Bangalore franchise had signed Rahul in 2013. He later rejoined the franchise in 2016. It remains RCB’s most glaring mistake to release Rahul ahead of 2018 mega auctions.

Rahul has grown in stature not just as a player but also as a leader too. He is IPL’s hottest property. Rahul is at the forefront of Indian cricket’s transformational leadership phase too. To think of it that all of this started back in 2013!

Matched Content Ad