5 Legends Who Have Neither Won The World Cup Nor The IPL

players who never won the world cup nor the IPL
players who never won the world cup nor the IPL

There have been many cricketing legends over the years. They have beautifully graced the game of cricket. Their elite skills have earned plaudits from across the world. These cricketers are revered for their ability, temperament, and discipline. But sadly few legends could never lay down their hands on any World Cup. These stars failed to be part of a winning IPL team too. Despite their greatness, this factor always haunts them, we have listed Legends Who Have Neither Won The World Cup Nor The IPL.

We look at 5 such legends who have neither won the World Cup nor the IPL:

#5 Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly led India to the finals of the 2003 World Cup. India suffered a heartbreaking loss in the finals. That final loss is still fresh in the memories of an entire generation. Ganguly who was part of two other world cups as a player could not be a part of a World Cup-winning squad. This is a fact that Ganguly self-admittedly feels bad about. Ganguly got a chance to redeem himself in the IPL leading Kolkata Knight Riders. But he couldn’t even take the team to the knockouts. His time with Pune Warriors India was even more disastrous. A silverware has sadly deserted Ganguly.

#4 Dale Steyn

Dale Steyn is arguably the 21st century’s greatest fast bowler. Steyn topped the bowling charts for many years. He was skillful and devastating in equal measure. Steyn was part of South Africa’s golden generation of cricketers. He was part of 3 World Cups (2007, 2011, and 2015). But the South African team couldn’t cross the final hurdle. The closest South Africa came to winning the World Cup was in 2015. But they suffered a heartbreaking loss in the semi-finals. A crest-fallen Steyn lying on the ground remains the most iconic image of the 2015 World Cup. Steyn’s luck didn’t even help in the IPL. He couldn’t win a single IPL trophy too. The legend’s trophy cabinet remains bare.

#3 Anil Kumble

Anil Kumble was one of India’s biggest match-winners. His braveheart fighting spirit was the golden standard for cricketers across the world. Kumble twice came close to lifting the World Cup, once in 1996 and once in 2003. But India couldn’t cross the line on both occasions. Kumble was handed over the captaincy mid-season in IPL 2009. RCB were struggling in the bottom half of the table when Kumble took over. He led the side with aplomb and took them to the finals. They fell agonisingly short of winning the IPL. Kumble-led RCB lost out in the semi-finals of the 2010 season. Hence even his trophy cupboard remains empty.

#2 Rahul Dravid

Rahul Dravid is arguably India’s finest Test batsman. He beautifully changed his game to suit the ODI format. Dravid kept wickets in ODIs to lend India the balance. He was part of India’s dream run in the 2003 World Cup. But much like others in the squad that was the closest, he came to winning the World Cup. Dravid’s trophy tryst continued in The IPL too. His stints with RCB and RR took him closer to the cup but the prize eluded him. He remains one of the greatest to have never won anything.

#1 AB de Villiers

There can’t be a more unfortunate love story than AB de Villiers and championships. This all-time great singlehandedly lit up tournaments with his brilliance. He realised his dream of leading South Africa in a World Cup in 2015. In a game of margins, South Africa fell short in the semi-finals. A teary-eyed Villiers quit the World Cup stage on an emotional low. His luck with the IPL isn’t any better. He was part of the all-conquering Delhi Daredevils side that went on to lose in the semi-finals. ABD went one step further with RCB in the 2016 finals. But they lost a close final. Villiers’ quest to win silverware continues.

Matched Content Ad